Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Excellent flavor. Trying to use up my potatoes and spinach, I did add more than called for and I also didn't puree the soup, I just used a potato masher and mashed. It was a thick and chunky consistency and quite tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Great flavor! I made it with sweet potatoes and omitted the sugar and celery. I zapped the potatoes in the microwave for 7 minutes before chopping them, so they were just right after 10 minutes of simmering. I like a chunkier soup, so I removed about 1/3 of the veggies, pureed the soup with a stick blender, and added the veggies back in; the texture was perfect. One word of caution: Even if you love spicy food (which I do), don't overdo it on the cayenne. I did, and although the soup was still delicious, the cayenne overpowered the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This was absolutely delicious and very flavourful. I just made it last night as the first soup I've ever put together, and it turned out great, although I may have added a bit more spices by preference. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This soup is FABULOUS. Even better the next day, in the unlikely event you have any left over. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This soup is outrageous!! I followed another reviewers advice and left it a little chunky but otherwise followed the recipe as written. My only change was to leave off the red pepper since we don't really like them. Thank you so much. Healthy ... fast ... and really yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This soup was delicious and soooo easy to make. My husband and 2 teens loved it. I followed the recipe to the tee and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I love this soup! I have made this several times now and will continue to keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Thank you for submitting this recipe. Being on a 10% fat/vegetarian diet, it is very difficult to find great recipes. I am not missing a thing with this dish! I look forward to making it, as written, when I have the ingred. on-hand. I used sweet potatoes, instead of yellow, and added a can of black beans. I also added yellow squash, just because it had to be used - went very well. I didn't have vege broth to substitute the chicken broth, so used V-8, diluted. This soup is perfect for this fall weather- hearty and flavorful-I will have often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Absolutely wonderful recipe! I've been looking for a good soup that didn't have any pasta or meat in it. The old standby veggie soup was getting a little tired. by the way-i didn't blend the soup and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Extremely good. I also like chuncky soup so I didn't puree it either. I didn't have fresh ginger and used powdered ginger and it came out so yummy! Next time, I am going to put some extra firm tofu in it to give me some protein. But awesome tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States