Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe is ridiculous in the best way possible. Try it! Don't worry if you don't use every specific ingredient -- mix and match, improvise...but do use fresh ginger instead of powdered if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Great flavor! I made it with sweet potatoes and omitted the sugar and celery. I zapped the potatoes in the microwave for 7 minutes before chopping them, so they were just right after 10 minutes of simmering. I like a chunkier soup, so I removed about 1/3 of the veggies, pureed the soup with a stick blender, and added the veggies back in; the texture was perfect. One word of caution: Even if you love spicy food (which I do), don't overdo it on the cayenne. I did, and although the soup was still delicious, the cayenne overpowered the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Excellent flavor. Trying to use up my potatoes and spinach, I did add more than called for and I also didn't puree the soup, I just used a potato masher and mashed. It was a thick and chunky consistency and quite tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Unique soup, I love the ginger. I tripled the spinach and could even add more as it really cooks down. I went ahead and pureed it all but found a few potato chunks which were nice, so next time I'll leave some more chunky. I'd actually like a little more garlic and maybe some black pepper as well, I went lite on the cayenne just incase :-) I'm looking forward to eating it tomorrow and seeing if its even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Well this was my first attempt ever at making soup and it turned out pretty well, if I do say so myself! I used a hand mixer to blend and it spattered EVERYWHERE, even on the lowest setting. The total prep/cok time this took me was 1 1/2 hours (compared to the suggested 35 mins). Wondering if anyone peeled the zucchini or left the skin on?? It tastes great and has wonderful presentation capabilities with the red pepper garnish. And I agree on watching the amount of cayenne :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I would have rather used chicken stock with this recipe, vegetable stock dose not give it enough falvor, with the veg stock I had to hit it with quite a bit of salt, vinager, and fish sauce to get enough bite to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
One of the best! We stored up a batch in the freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Watery...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenaea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Severely bland as written. I tripled the spices and still ended up just dumping a bunch of curry powder into it so it'd taste like something. If you're not vegetarian definitely use chicken stock instead. Or just try another recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very tasty last minute dish! I didn't exactly follow the recipe but the basics were all in there. I added added carrots, subbed cinnamon and cumin for allspice and added a can of garbanzo beans to make it a little heartier. I like a thicker soup so the garbanzo beans were a great addition, I think maybe more potato would be good too. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States