Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This soup is fantastic! We don't like zucchini, so I used half a bag of coleslaw mix. We love the taste, and it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
SO GOOD!!! and easy! I am a beginner cook and managed just fine. I was a bit wary to try this and wasn't sure how it would turn out but it is AMAZING. The flavors are unique-- a delightful mix of warm spices, sweet ginger and just enough tangy spice to keep it interesting and balanced. This soup also gets better as it sits so leftovers are to die for...a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Exceptional recipe. We enjoyed it with extra spinach alongside "Skillet Grilled Catfish" recipe and some homemade french fries. Perfect! Next time I might just try adding in some jalapenos for my spice-lovin' husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Very well spiced, great tasting soup. Have also added tofu to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This did not turn out well for me. It seemed a bit bland. I don't think I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a wonderfully satisfying soup, especially if you're dieting and enjoy savory, full flavored food. Very simple to make and will make it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Excellent. Easy to make and truely delicious if you like gingery spicy soups. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This soup was incredibly bland as written. I had to add quite a bit of ingredients to make it decent, and even then it was nothing special. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was really good - I made it for my fiancee after reading all the good reviews, and she liked it a lot. She's a new Vegan, so finding good food is still kinda tough for her. The only thing I changed about the recipe was that I minced a bunch of crystallized ginger I had on hand, rather that using fresh ginger. I also omitted the turbinado sugar, since the crystallized ginger had sugar in it. I pulsed my soup in the blender for a few seconds, and I have to say, it turned out really well - very smooth, visually appealing, and the flavors were great. You can definitely taste the spinach, and the heat was very subtle - it snuck up to you, and was very "warm", rather than coming across as too spicy. Will definitely make this one again, perhaps with some marinated tofu added in for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe is ridiculous in the best way possible. Try it! Don't worry if you don't use every specific ingredient -- mix and match, improvise...but do use fresh ginger instead of powdered if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States