Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a wonderfully satisfying soup, especially if you're dieting and enjoy savory, full flavored food. Very simple to make and will make it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Excellent. Easy to make and truely delicious if you like gingery spicy soups. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This soup was incredibly bland as written. I had to add quite a bit of ingredients to make it decent, and even then it was nothing special. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was really good - I made it for my fiancee after reading all the good reviews, and she liked it a lot. She's a new Vegan, so finding good food is still kinda tough for her. The only thing I changed about the recipe was that I minced a bunch of crystallized ginger I had on hand, rather that using fresh ginger. I also omitted the turbinado sugar, since the crystallized ginger had sugar in it. I pulsed my soup in the blender for a few seconds, and I have to say, it turned out really well - very smooth, visually appealing, and the flavors were great. You can definitely taste the spinach, and the heat was very subtle - it snuck up to you, and was very "warm", rather than coming across as too spicy. Will definitely make this one again, perhaps with some marinated tofu added in for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe is ridiculous in the best way possible. Try it! Don't worry if you don't use every specific ingredient -- mix and match, improvise...but do use fresh ginger instead of powdered if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Unique soup, I love the ginger. I tripled the spinach and could even add more as it really cooks down. I went ahead and pureed it all but found a few potato chunks which were nice, so next time I'll leave some more chunky. I'd actually like a little more garlic and maybe some black pepper as well, I went lite on the cayenne just incase :-) I'm looking forward to eating it tomorrow and seeing if its even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Extremely good. I also like chuncky soup so I didn't puree it either. I didn't have fresh ginger and used powdered ginger and it came out so yummy! Next time, I am going to put some extra firm tofu in it to give me some protein. But awesome tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Absolutely wonderful recipe! I've been looking for a good soup that didn't have any pasta or meat in it. The old standby veggie soup was getting a little tired. by the way-i didn't blend the soup and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Thank you for submitting this recipe. Being on a 10% fat/vegetarian diet, it is very difficult to find great recipes. I am not missing a thing with this dish! I look forward to making it, as written, when I have the ingred. on-hand. I used sweet potatoes, instead of yellow, and added a can of black beans. I also added yellow squash, just because it had to be used - went very well. I didn't have vege broth to substitute the chicken broth, so used V-8, diluted. This soup is perfect for this fall weather- hearty and flavorful-I will have often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States