Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This soup was delicious and easy to make. I have made it several times now and have a few recommendations. Use sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes. Don't use sugar since the sweet potatoes are naturally sweet. Use extra spinach and add it at the very last minute so it wilts. If you add it earlier, it gets kind of slimy and gross. I never puree it since I love chunky soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by havenleah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This soup is good, I liked the idea of spinach in soup, but I am not sure, I will use this recipe in the future. Or I will make modifications. As I said, the soup was good for me, but not a spectacular. I didn't like potatoes in the soup and I would increase spinach amount. The soup was flavourful, I felt all spices, but I missed something in this soup. But, thanks anyway for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I thought this soup was very flavorful. Thanks for adding to my collection of soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
a delicious way to incorporate veges into your diet. This is YUMMY!! I used sweet potatoes and left some of the veges chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
very nice and hearty soup. i left it chunky and onle mashed a couple of the potatoes to make it a thicker soup. also served it with a dollop of sour cream, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This soup is fantastic! We don't like zucchini, so I used half a bag of coleslaw mix. We love the taste, and it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
SO GOOD!!! and easy! I am a beginner cook and managed just fine. I was a bit wary to try this and wasn't sure how it would turn out but it is AMAZING. The flavors are unique-- a delightful mix of warm spices, sweet ginger and just enough tangy spice to keep it interesting and balanced. This soup also gets better as it sits so leftovers are to die for...a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Exceptional recipe. We enjoyed it with extra spinach alongside "Skillet Grilled Catfish" recipe and some homemade french fries. Perfect! Next time I might just try adding in some jalapenos for my spice-lovin' husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Very well spiced, great tasting soup. Have also added tofu to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This did not turn out well for me. It seemed a bit bland. I don't think I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States