Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very tasty last minute dish! I didn't exactly follow the recipe but the basics were all in there. I added added carrots, subbed cinnamon and cumin for allspice and added a can of garbanzo beans to make it a little heartier. I like a thicker soup so the garbanzo beans were a great addition, I think maybe more potato would be good too. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Amazing soup!! I made this for my boyfriend and I and we both loved it!It has the perfect combination of vegetables and potatoes to give it a delicious consistency. It made a great healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This soup is incredible; tasty and easy to make. I used brown sugar instead of turbinado because it isn't available in the stores where I live. I used frozen spinach which is what I had on hand and it tasted just fine. I adjusted the heat a bit since I like my food spicy. This one is a keeper, even the boyfriend likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
very good and nice to try something a little out of my family's comfort zone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Everyone loved this soup! I used chicken stock, 4 cups pre-made and 2 cups fresh. I left out the potatoes because of an allergy. Added a little more zucchini and left it chunky. I think I went a little light on the cayenne but my son liked the broth so that was probably better. Used lots of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
this is the best soup!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I served this to company and everyone from teen to adult enjoyed it. In fact, some wanted more for dessert! I served it along with Jay's Jerk Chicken, Jamaican Rice, and Carrot and Pineapple bread. I made no changes to the recipe. I have tried it completely blended as well as just blending half the soup and mixing it in with the remaining non-blended soup. Either way is great, just depends on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Just by a quick glance at the ingredients list, one would never guess how delicious this soup really is. I followed the directions as stated ( subbing sweet potato for the white potato ) but hesitated when it came time to blend the soup... almost. Blending the soup made for a bisque-like texture due, in part, to the potato (winter squash would work just as well) without the usage of heavy cream. And the flavor... the flavor is light and fresh (thanks zucchini!) with just a hint of warmth from the ginger and dry spices. Thanks, SYNCHORSWIM, this soup will easily fit into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I love this soup! I have tried it with both vegetable broth and chicken. I prefer it with the chicken it seems to have a much better fllavor! I made Elijah's Phulourie to go with this and some cilantro chuntney. You can find the Phulourie on this websites. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dzoe218
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This soup is delicious! Low calorie and very filling but so good I want more. :) Thank you for sharing this recipe! My differences: 1/2 red onion vs a full onion, white sugar instead of turbinado, and 5c chicken stock vs 6c vegetable. I just used what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dzoe218

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States