Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe exactly as it is with no modifications. I loved it! My friends loved it and my kid loved it. The only thing I did different was that I blended half of it and left the other half chunky, then I combined it again, so it wasnt all mush. Next time I will add pieces of chicken and dumplings to it, that will make it even better, but it is already great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I'm on a special diet called GAPS, so I had to make a few modifications. I used homemade chicken broth instead of veggie broth, a teaspoon of raw honey instead of the sugar, 2 large turnips instead of the potatoes, and then since I didn't have any zucchini on hand, I subbed a 14oz can of pumpkin. This soup had so much flavor and was so smooth. We loved it and will definitely make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Fantastic! We had it with ciabatta bread and loved it. We'll be having this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
One of the best! We stored up a batch in the freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I loved this soup! It was most certainly NOT bland and I didn't even add the cayenne pepper as I was cooking for children as well as adults. I will make this soup again and again, thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
THIS was AMAZING! different and delicious. I did use sweet potatoes and when they were finished and it was time to add the spinach I had fresh spinach that i had thrown in the freezer to use. I separated everything from the broth by straining it, and put a little bit of the broth and the frozen spinach in a blender and blended an entire bag, so way more than a cup. Then I mashed the potatoes celery and all that stuff with a fork and put everything back together, broth, potatoes and pureed spinach. it was SUPER amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Watery...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenaea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good and good for you. We added pinto beans, doubled the spices and used chicken stock. Great with some crusty rye bread to dunk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Severely bland as written. I tripled the spices and still ended up just dumping a bunch of curry powder into it so it'd taste like something. If you're not vegetarian definitely use chicken stock instead. Or just try another recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Mmm! This is so yummy! I took other reviewers advice and only blended about 3/4 of the soup, leaving some chunks. It was really great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States