Jamaican Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
What a lovely soup! Made as written except didn't have a potato so used a carrot. It was delicious and the spices are perfect. As a vegetarian, I'll be making this a lot. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is a recipe from the Fresh cookbook. Fresh is a restaurant in Toronto which makes amazing soups. This recipe doesn't reflect that in my mind. I had the cookbook and googled it to get reviews. Well I followed others reviewers instructions adding an extra potato to make it thicker and the consistency was perfect. The only other change I made was I used chicken broth instead of veg. The soup was good but bland, which I think was a reflection of the potatoes. I added some lemon and durkee hot sauce and I think I over did it because the hot sauce was overwhelming in it after I did that. I will probably make it again and add less hot sauce next time but it definitely needs something to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Creamy and yet without any heavy cream. All veggie based, very flavorful, and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Excellent flavor, and VERY forgiving... I made so many modifications to accommodate the ingredients I had on hand. - 2 onions instead of 1 - No celery - minced and jarred versions of the ginger and the garlic rather than fresh - ordinary sugar and salt - 2 yams instead of potatoes - low sodium chicken stock instead of vegetable - 4 dashes of cayenne powder (gave it a nice yet still subtle kick!) - doubled the spinach - nixed the bell pepper And I just diced everything up into bite-size pieces and skipped the blender step. It turned out both aesthetic and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe exactly as it is with no modifications. I loved it! My friends loved it and my kid loved it. The only thing I did different was that I blended half of it and left the other half chunky, then I combined it again, so it wasnt all mush. Next time I will add pieces of chicken and dumplings to it, that will make it even better, but it is already great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I'm on a special diet called GAPS, so I had to make a few modifications. I used homemade chicken broth instead of veggie broth, a teaspoon of raw honey instead of the sugar, 2 large turnips instead of the potatoes, and then since I didn't have any zucchini on hand, I subbed a 14oz can of pumpkin. This soup had so much flavor and was so smooth. We loved it and will definitely make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Fantastic! We had it with ciabatta bread and loved it. We'll be having this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
One of the best! We stored up a batch in the freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I loved this soup! It was most certainly NOT bland and I didn't even add the cayenne pepper as I was cooking for children as well as adults. I will make this soup again and again, thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
THIS was AMAZING! different and delicious. I did use sweet potatoes and when they were finished and it was time to add the spinach I had fresh spinach that i had thrown in the freezer to use. I separated everything from the broth by straining it, and put a little bit of the broth and the frozen spinach in a blender and blended an entire bag, so way more than a cup. Then I mashed the potatoes celery and all that stuff with a fork and put everything back together, broth, potatoes and pureed spinach. it was SUPER amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States