Jamaican Saltfish Fritters (Stamp and Go) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I thought this was delicious. Made a batch for Christmas morning breakfast and it was the bomb. I used chicken stock instead of water and added scotch bonnet peppers. Yum, yum, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMARTIN123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I added fresh Thyme and 1 Scotch Bonnett pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Weir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Yesss gyal!!! I've been wanting these forever but never knew how to make them and don't like the ones I've found in restaurants. I made them last night as directed except added some scotch bonnet. They were delicious! No one in my house really likes saltfish so I was lucky enough to be able to eat them all myself, and I sure did! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This recipe turned out SO well, I felt like I had been making the fritters for years! I added scotch bonnet peppers, and that gave it the kick that Jamaicans are accustomed to having. I actually made it for a multi-cultural expo at my church and EVERYBODY raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
OMG!!! just made a batch and if I'm not eating them as they come out!!!! At this rate I will have none left....I made the recipe exactly but I did add one scotch bonnet and increased the saltfish because I like to taste it in every bit...yum yum yum...thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
this is oh so good. next time i will boil the saltfish three times instead of two; it was still too salty for my family taste. But otherwise it was good. I also added extra seasonings like sweet pepper, thyme, basil, cayenne pepper,onion chive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little minced garlic scotch bonnet pepper a little minced bell pepper (red and green) and little seasoning salt to the flour...Just like Mommy's..."when yuh check it out Lawwd nuh weh nuh betta dan yaaard" #Jamaica ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Lacret
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I added a little extra and it was out of this world. I left out the tomatoes but added corn. garlic, sweet union. Next time I am going to try it with corn meal "Hush Puppies"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Lacret

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I kicked it up a notch by adding bonnet scotch. I blended that with the tomatoes, onions, pepper in my vitamix first then continued with the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Oh lord, these are delicious! I added some jalepeno pepper because thats all the pepper I had on hand and a little bit of celery only because I need to use it up. SOOOOO GOOD! If I wasnt pregnant I would love to crack a red stripe beer and enjoy! You could mix up the vegetable adding sweet peppers etc. I also added maybe a few teaspoons more of water but I am assuming that is because my hubby didnt measure the flour proper. The amount of water / flour is basically spot on! I made my quite thick so I did cook about 7-8 min on each side and I also used olive oil, also all I had. I only boiled the fish for 5 min as directed and the amount of salt was perfect. Oh, I did add 1 teaspoon of vegetable bouillion as well - just for a tad more flavour! Hubby had 7 I had 3.. all gone in 5 min max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States