Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
i didn't have a pressure cooker so i just cooked it for about 2 hours and they were very tender. i felt like they needed a bit more flavor and honestly i don't think they tasted as good as some of the restaurant style ones at all. they needed to be more spice and even thou i added extra it still didn't but they were tasty . i didn't put the cornstarch in them seeing as i cooked them for so long and the sauce did thicken up without it . i don't know if i would make them again but in the end they were good .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Wowzer!!!! okay, I pretty much followed the directions only omitting the Thyme and Chili Pepper. I substituted the chili pepper with 2 tbsp. of Sambal Oelek chili sauce. Also, I cooked 2 lbs of oxtails as opposed to 1 lb. I love the meat!!! I marinated the oxtails in vinegar and lemon juice for about 2 hours, then seasoned the meat before adding it to the skillet with 4 green onions, 1/2 regular onion, 2 tbsp. of garlic and a tbsp. of ginger. I just added more because I had more meat. I fried them in the skillet for 20 min. with soy sauce and red wine vinegar.(the onions did not burn as another commentor stated) Then I dropped the oxtails with sauted ingredients into the crock pot and let them cook on low overnight (11 hours total) . I let the Great Northern beans soak overnight then got up in the morning and boiled them for about an hour, removed them from the heat for about an hour and returned them to the fire on low for about 2 hours, they were almost done. I dropped them into the crockpot with the oxtails that had practically simmered off the bone and allowed all ingredients to cook another 2 hours adding 1 tbsp of cornstarch, salt, 1/2 tsp.cayenne pepper, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 tsp. onion powder, as it was tasting bland and 4 tbsp of brown sugar. OMG, you cannot believe the kick in this mix. It does make a difference what you choose to cook in , crock pot or pressure cooker and the beans cook much faster with the over night soak method. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toosxz4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TSmith81
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The only thing I changed were the beans I used butter beans instead. We didn't have fava beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
The ginger made the dish more Asian than I was used to tasting. I will never use ginger in this dish, it is perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I must have screwed this up somehow. I added more than 1 1/2 cups of water before I turned on my slow cooker, since I didn't want the water to evaporate. I also doubled the amount of spices, but it didn't have any flavor. I'll have to try it one more time with less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAVON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I can't begin to tell you how tasty this dish was. My husband, who is from the islands, enjoyed this dish very much. I am looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheshell76
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
DELICIOUS, I finally learned how to make authentic Jamaican style oxtails. This recipe should be followed as is the first time and then changes can be made after that. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheshell76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Wow, but try freezing and reheating and it only gets more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Very Easy and good recipe. I did it exactly as stated. My pressure cooker cover was not sealed properly so I had to add more water and cook a little longer. My pepper burst so it was a little hot, I am going to take it out half way through cooking next time. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I added mushroom soy sauce and put this in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States