Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
It was very simple to make-- I am a novice in the kitchen. It came out wonderufully, and I am excited to make it regularly. I used my crockpot on low-- I set it in the morning before I left for work, and it was ready when I got home-- all I had to do was add the beans, and put some rice in the rice cook-- VERY TASTEY MEAL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Singley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
It was ok but I will stick with my curry oxtail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This recipe is amazing and brings me right back to Jamaica! This is my first time using both oxtail and sun bonnet peppers. I followed the recipe really close, but I had to substitute scotch bonnet pepper powder for the actual pepper. I used 1/2 teaspoon which gave this a nice bite, but wasn't wipe your forehead bite. I think you need to be at 3/4 teaspoon to 1 teaspoon of powder for that. I ABSOLUTELY LOVED the flavor of the scotch bonnet and can't wait to use it in other meals. The oxtail itself was really nice and not as fatty as I expected. I did also sub in allspice powder for berries (about 1/4 teaspoon). This meal has every flavor that I've been missing and I can't wait to make it again. Thank you Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Brought me back to New York. Miss my Jamican oxtail thank you. Could be spicier but still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melloreb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I didn't use the pepper, but the base flavor was kind of bland. . I don't know what happened, but needed more flavor somehow. I cooked in wine after , as another person suggested and it was better. Next time I'm going to use chick stock instead of water and add a little wine to the pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I prepared this dish last saturday. OMG it was simply delicious. I followed the recipe with a little cheating. I browned the oxtail as per the recipe, after the meat was browned, i placed it in a slow cooker and added my wet ingredients, I bought oxtail seasoning from our local Asian Food Mart, and substituted this for the salt,pepper and allspice. I didn't add the chili as i cant handle the heat. It took me 5 hours in the slow cooker on high. Honestly it was well worth the wait. I actually added way too much of the seasoning and i fixed that by adding a tablespoon of vinegar. Also i used flour to thicken the sauce. I didnt add any beans as my husband is not a fan, however next time I will. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Delissssssssssh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Best recipe I have found yet and I have tried a lot. I did change just a few things: used 2 packages of oxtail (about 2lbs) , added 2 red bell peppers, forgot to add the garlic (wasn't needed though), added beef bouillon cubes (4), caribbean oxtail seasoning, no beans, and powdered ginger. I also used a slow cooker for about 6 hrs. Everything else was the same as in the original recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GiJo_Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My family loved this recipe! It was a deviation from my usual way of making oxtails. But I did stick with my learned way of using butter beans. The corn starch was a great thickening agent which I had never even considered. I will definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Great, delicious, and authentic! This recipe was perfect! I used 4 lbs of oxtail and doubled the recipe. I used a pressure cooker and happy I did. Nothing bad to say, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States