Jamaican Me Crazy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
When I first served it right after cooking, it was really very bland and didn't taste any different than chili you make from the spice packets. The next day it was better, but the day after that it was very delicious after I fixed it. I had to add a tsp each of cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes, and in my own bowl also poured on Tapatio hot sauce and that gave it a sweet, spicy flavor. I hate recipes that have a mile long list of ingredients and then taste bland, gimme a can anyday over this recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This chili is really good, although it definitely needed spicing up! I added a minced habanero pepper, which gave it the needed zip. I also used texturized vegetable protein instead of ground beef to get the same texture as meat chili without all the saturated fat. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
It was really, really good!! It was not as spicy as I thought it was going to be though. It wouldn't hurt if anyone wanted to add more of the hot stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
My teenager needed a Jamaican recipe for school so we made this chili. It was a hit at school and at home. The paprika I used didn't say sweet or hot and I didn't use cilantro (maybe next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
A very easy and quick recipe that was very good, but definitely needs to be spicier for adults. Next time i'll add more chili powder!! Good recipe to try !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Great chili recipe to start with, but I personally like a bit more spice. Instead of regular chili powder, I used some extra hot chili powder I found at an Indian Food Market. I doubled the amount of chili powder, added a bit mroe garlic, and this recipe was certainly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This was my first time making chili from scratch. This recipe made it so EASY and delicious. It was the best chili I have had. I left out the meat, and served it with Mexican Cornbread, and WOW was it delicious. I added a little brown sugar, and cooked about 1 tablespoon of chopped cilantro with the chili. This added an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
I loved this recipe. It was wonderful. I really enjoyed the yellow bell pepper. It added a different type of flavor. This isn't a spicy chili though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Just won a chili cookoff with our Jamaican Chili and motif! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
I do a daily soup special for a local restaurant and this has become Friday's special. It sells out fast every week. Note: If you want to reduce the heat but keep the flavor, substitute sweet paprika for the hot paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States