Jamaican Me Crazy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I'm not sure how fantastic the recipe is as written, lol...because I made a few tweaks from the first time. In making this as a healthy low fat meal with lots of flavor, I made the following changes: - Used ground chicken as the meat - Eliminated all oil in cooking - Used Chipotle Chile Powder instead of the paprika, adjusting amount to accomodate spiciness - Doubled most of the other spices - Added a little thyme - Eliminated the sugar I served with low fat whole wheat corn muffins. This was absolutely fantastic and the diet-conscious folks at work I make it for are in love with it. Excellent base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
YUMMY! I went crazy with this recipe and just started adding more of whatever spices I liked best and it turned out to be great either way! Great for Thanksgiving!!! Or a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter, and it was without question the worst tasting chili ever. The clove was overpowering and there was no heat to the dish. There is nothing you could do different to make this chili taste better and it certainly does not make a person think of Jamaica. Big yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This recipe is the best! My 10 year old likes to make it for the family! It has the best mix of flavors. If you are looking for a good chili, this is the one to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Tried a vegetarian version, substituted the meat for more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
No sinus's draining here. I added 1 tsp. of cayenne and a few shakes of habanero sauce. All in all, good tasting chili. This one replaces my Purdue Boiler Maker Chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Made this for thirty of my students and they loved it. Making it again for a tailgating party on 30 Dec 2007!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Like a dope, I went to the grocery store to buy ingredients for a Jamaican dish and bought "Italian Style" canned tomatoes! Still, it was a very sweet chili. I was expecting it to be a little tangy and spicy. Especially since I added a few jalapeño peppers. I like my chili spicy not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
OH MY GOSH! I thought I made good chili until I tried this recipe. I used regular paprika instead of the hot and it was just right for us. Very flavorful. I left out the olive oil and browned the beef with the peppers, garlic, spices, etc. and combined them with the beans, etc. in my crockpot and cooked it on high for 3 hours. We will make this again and again and again and again and . . . well, you get the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This will be my new "go to" chili recipe. Excellent flavor...my whole family loved it! I did use 1/2 hot paprika and 1/2 mild just because my kids will not eat real spicy foods. I also added heaping tablespoons of the other spices. Topped the chili with shredded cheddar and sliced avocado. My husband added diced jalapeno. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States