Jamaican Me Crazy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
didn't work out to be all that "crazy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
i was really excited to try this recipe. the best chili i've ever had was actually on our honeymoon in jamaica. this recipe, however, was bland and a somewhat watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I have had over 10 chili haters and people with gerd try this and they love it!! This is a sweeter, milder chili which even extreme chili lovers like this. If you want a traditional "Hot" chili this isn't it. But for people that have had to stear clear of the hots or just don't like it hot, this is an excellent option!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This chilli was Yummy Yum! My friends and I all loved it. Definitely a keeper. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My husband, who is not prone to liking unusual recipes, loved this! I did sub chicken for the ground beef because when I think of Caribbean jerk flavoring, I think of jerked-chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japancake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made this chili without beef and it was good. It definitely tasted different than other chili recipes I've made--sweeter, with the unusual taste of cloves. I served it with rice and cilantro as suggested. I am giving it four stars because it's just not my favorite chili recipe, but it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I love this recipe- so good with the balsamic vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I'm not sure how fantastic the recipe is as written, lol...because I made a few tweaks from the first time. In making this as a healthy low fat meal with lots of flavor, I made the following changes: - Used ground chicken as the meat - Eliminated all oil in cooking - Used Chipotle Chile Powder instead of the paprika, adjusting amount to accomodate spiciness - Doubled most of the other spices - Added a little thyme - Eliminated the sugar I served with low fat whole wheat corn muffins. This was absolutely fantastic and the diet-conscious folks at work I make it for are in love with it. Excellent base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
YUMMY! I went crazy with this recipe and just started adding more of whatever spices I liked best and it turned out to be great either way! Great for Thanksgiving!!! Or a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter, and it was without question the worst tasting chili ever. The clove was overpowering and there was no heat to the dish. There is nothing you could do different to make this chili taste better and it certainly does not make a person think of Jamaica. Big yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States