Jamaican Me Crazy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mwnelson1
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
a hit! i just added 1/2 chicken and 1/2 beef. will also fry up some thick slice bacon, chop it, and add it... put the cilantro directly in also... very good spices (don't go over on the sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwnelson1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This was a good base chili, 'But' The ground Clove was so very stong it was about all we could taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
didn't work out to be all that "crazy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
i was really excited to try this recipe. the best chili i've ever had was actually on our honeymoon in jamaica. this recipe, however, was bland and a somewhat watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I have had over 10 chili haters and people with gerd try this and they love it!! This is a sweeter, milder chili which even extreme chili lovers like this. If you want a traditional "Hot" chili this isn't it. But for people that have had to stear clear of the hots or just don't like it hot, this is an excellent option!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This chilli was Yummy Yum! My friends and I all loved it. Definitely a keeper. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My husband, who is not prone to liking unusual recipes, loved this! I did sub chicken for the ground beef because when I think of Caribbean jerk flavoring, I think of jerked-chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Japancake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made this chili without beef and it was good. It definitely tasted different than other chili recipes I've made--sweeter, with the unusual taste of cloves. I served it with rice and cilantro as suggested. I am giving it four stars because it's just not my favorite chili recipe, but it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I love this recipe- so good with the balsamic vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I'm not sure how fantastic the recipe is as written, lol...because I made a few tweaks from the first time. In making this as a healthy low fat meal with lots of flavor, I made the following changes: - Used ground chicken as the meat - Eliminated all oil in cooking - Used Chipotle Chile Powder instead of the paprika, adjusting amount to accomodate spiciness - Doubled most of the other spices - Added a little thyme - Eliminated the sugar I served with low fat whole wheat corn muffins. This was absolutely fantastic and the diet-conscious folks at work I make it for are in love with it. Excellent base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States