Jamaican Jerked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This isn't bad but let me give you guys a little tip. You don't have to use all these ingredients to get jerk chicken. All you have to use is jerk seasoning, onion, thyme, a few pimento seedsand hot peppers. Just add enough powder seasoning that will give it taste. Then use a fork to put some holes in the chicken so that the inside of the chicken can soak up some of the seasoning. Preferably leave it over night in the fridge so that it can marinate and taste better. Then take it out about 30mins prior to cooking then just put it on the grill for about up to and hour or less. Then serve That's the Jamaican recipe I know because I'm Jamaican
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I thought this needed very little change. I expected something sweeter and more citrus flavored despite the peppers but thought the recipe came out very well. My Family insists I make it when my in-laws come out, though I may try concentrated OJ next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was awesome. I did use it on pork instead of chicken but I did read that Jamaican Jerk is traditionally made with goat or pork rather than chicken anyway. Upon grilling, it takes on a just lovely aroma. We topped it with the Hot Banana Salsa from the website. I liked it--it was fresh and healthy and aromatic. My husband added some hickory chips while grilling. I don't know how much of a difference that really makes. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Absolutely delicious, my husband and I both loved this dish. I followed the instructions as listed without making any changes. I made the marinade the night before (took about 5 minutes) and let the meat marinate overnight. The chicken smelled wonderful on the grill the next day. Even the leftovers were great and moist when reheated. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This turned out very delish!! I doubled the recipe and swapped out red onion for green (it's what I had). I only got to marinade this for about 1 hr so after removing from marinade, I sprinkled Pampered Chef Jamaican Jerk Rub on each piece just prior to grilling. The flavor was great and this was very easy, too! I will be making this often this summer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
The only reason for the 4 stars is that it wasn't my favorite - but my husband LOVED IT. I followed the recipe exactly - very simple and easy to do. The hardest part is remembering to start it first thing the morning to allow it marinate for 8 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Loved this recipe. Only thing that needed tweaking is the jalapenos. Need to increase it for a little bit spicier kick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is truly a tasty recipe, but I found it lacked the heat that authentic jerk chicken has. Mind you, really authentic jerk chicken can be intolerably hot for the uninitiated. I find that the quality of jalapeno peppers has really declined over the last ten to fifteen years, such that they don't pack much of a punch anymore (you shouldn't be able to eat a raw one, but often you can). Instead try a SMALL amount of scotch bonnet peppers instead. Cut them open, seed them and remove the ribs. Do NOT touch your eyes, face or loved ones after handling! You'll find these pack a much bigger punch for your dollar. Try just one pepper for this recipe at first, then add more the next time if you like it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I've made it a few times for family & friends and everyone loved it. Excellent for a summer bbq, served with salads. I used bone-less skin-less chicken thighs and they were so moist. Add more jalapeno if you want more heat. En-joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was good, but I think using some pre-mixed jerk seasoning is the way to go. Much easier that way! I added some brown sugar to my marinade too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States