Jamaican Jerk Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
The kids used this for pork loin chops as part of a social studies assignment where they had to make recipes from the Caribbean (scaled way down). It is hot, but very good. We made pineapple salsa to go with it and balance the heat. I think I'm going to make a batch to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
We scaled back the recipe the first time because it was sooo much. It came out absolutely awesome. We had a group of friends over and make dinner with this and they went nutty. So now we have made the full version and use it on everything. Grilled Tilapia, Jerk Chicken...even Jamaican Fried Jerk Chicken...so good. Thanks alot for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
a nice spicy rub, used it on a ribeye. will use on chicken as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I used this last night for dinner and it was fabulous! I marinated rib-in chicken breast with Lawrey's Jerk Marinade and put this rub on prior to grilling. The reviews were in agreement.....juicy and flavorful! It's going to the top of my summertime grilling list for a wonderfully different flavor profile. ChefRed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
excellent!!! i know real Jamaican Jerk is supposed to be spicier, but the amount of heat in this recipe was perfect for my bf and i! Great rub for fish or chicken! Scaled down the recipe to an amount for a small spice jar (about half-cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanny420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Wow, this is the best Jamaican Jerk Rub ever!! I used this rub on a turkey for Christmas and it was a hit. Everyone wanted more and wanted to know how I did this. I will be using this rub for now on out when I want anything jerk. Thanks for sharing, a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I didn't have any chipotle powder, and I halved the cayenne as others recommended. I used this as a rub for a chicken I baked for dinner, and my boyfriend and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I scaled down the size, and used it on ribeyes. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was a good base recipe! We just reduced the serving size to 20, and then modified the salt and the cayenne pepper so it wasn't too salty and spicy! It reminded us of our honeymoon in Jamaica where we had the best seasoned lamb legs ever. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
After preparing and using Creole and Caribbean spice mixtures for a few years, I was looking forward to trying the Jamaican Jerk Dry Rub. Even though I cut the cayenne in half thanks to other reviewers, it was still overpoweringly hot. This surprised me since we usually love spicey food. I was disappointed since I bought the chipotle chili pepper especially for this recipe and it was quite pricey. I found there was much too much allspice in this recipe, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Cooking with Cayenne Pepper

Learn all about spicy cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States