Jamaican Jerk Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Best Jamaican Jerk dry rub I've used. Beats store bought rubs and sauces hands-down. I used it as a dry rub on Chilean Sea Bass, and the results were nothing short of incredible. For the Sea Bass, I reduced the salt content - it seemed to high for seafood. However, the recommended amount of salt works fine for meats. This dry rub also makes a delicious addition to standard BBQ sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Converted down to 25 servings for a smaller amount. Roasted a chicken with it and everyone loved this rub. My MIL asked for recipe, and gave her some of what was left over, and we are both look'n forward to get'n our rub on! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
The aroma of this was wonderful, both when I mixed it and then when I grilled the meat. I scaled it way back for just a single use, but will make more and store it in a jar to keep on hand. I had some boneless pork in the freezer, so made the dry rub into a paste using canola oil and let the pork thaw and marinate overnight in the refrigerator. The meat was flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
We scaled back the recipe the first time because it was sooo much. It came out absolutely awesome. We had a group of friends over and make dinner with this and they went nutty. So now we have made the full version and use it on everything. Grilled Tilapia, Jerk Chicken...even Jamaican Fried Jerk Chicken...so good. Thanks alot for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I used this seasoning mix on boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I sauteed in a mix of olive oil and butter, about 4 minutes on each side. I then served it with a mango salsa. The spice had just enough kick in it to make one say "hmm, what's in this?" It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was way too hot for me and I love spicy food. Next time, I will cut the cayenne in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This rub has decent flavor but it is not Jamaican Jerk. I've worked alongside a true Jamaican who would cook for us all the time and this rub does not taste like Jerk anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by troym40
Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Wow, this is awesome stuff. Used it to make a barbecue pork in a crock pot, it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I've made a lot of different rubs for ribs, chicken, beef, pork chops but this might be the last one I ever make. It is that good! After I made it, I was a little worried with how it smelled and tasted, but after I grilled my chicken breasts, I was amazed at the flavor & aroma. I got my breasts moist with olive oil, put the rub on both sides and let it soak in for about an hour or so. Then grilled them up & yum! Even put a little rub on some yukon gold potatoes that I cut up along with some whole garlic cloves some diced fresh ginger & sweet onions with a little olive oil all wrapped up in foil on the grill. Made for a very tasty, easy & relatively quick dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I scaled this down to 4 servings and it was great! I rubbed it on boneless, skinless chicken breats and threw it on the grill. Everyone loved it. I will make a bigger batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turner's Mom

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Cooking with Cayenne Pepper

Learn all about spicy cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States