Jamaican Jerk Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I just tried this recipe. Didn't have any chipotle chiles so I substituted mole powder, and I left out the garlic powder. Then I halved the cayenne. Added the powder generously to boneless chicken breast and cooked on a hot grill. Everyone loved it except my roommate, who said it was still too hot. When you smell the powder, the clove is overpowering, though once it cooks the flavors are well-balanced. I made a dry rub that called for more sugar recently and it was really too much. This one definitely gets the combination of salty, sweet and spicy in the right proportions. I have leftover powder, so I'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Made small amount of this rub, scaled back for a couple of grilled rib-eyes to try it on. Marinated for 20 minutes,wonderful flavor and aroma. Had a bit left over, rubbed on some chicken breast tenders, marinated half hour while I cut up some veggies for a stir fry. My 5 yrs old grandson ate two helpings, stating it was the bestest chicken ever... Good enough for me, going to try it on a roast chicken today, thanks bunches. I keep a small bottle in the spice cabinet now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
i have and it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Excellent results! I made it for the crew at the firehouse last night and it received rave reviews. I also made a jerk inspired barbecue sauce that was used to glaze the chicken during the last bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
We use this rub on EVERYTHING! Fish, chicken, pork, beef, veggies... It is DELICIOUS!!! Obviously, we convert the recipe down to a more managable size, but with as good as it is, I can see why it is so larg, we would go through that much in a couple of months :-) It IS spicy, so cutting down on the chipolte and cayenne for those that don't like the heat will do that, but not take away from the flavor. I am SO happy we found this and MOST thankful for Lovinlife posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Really authentic and takes me back to our annual trek to Negril. I do change the quantity to 10 servings which is plenty to rub all over 1 whole cut up chicken and I used 2-3 Tbsp. in a pot of collard greens with 2 Tbsp of hot cherry peppers cut up during the cooking of 1 bunch of fresh greens and round out the meal with black beans and rice or pink beans and rice any time I need a Jamaican fix. Thanks for sharing and thanks to allrecipes.com for allowing us to easily adjust the serving size so we don't have to end up with 26 cups unless we want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Love this rub! I put it on chicken or pork. To make a regular size spice bottle full, just change the serving size to 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I scaled the recipe back to 20 servings to use for a whole chicken. It was very good though I would probably reduce the cayenne pepper next time since it was fairly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is a wonderful addition to my dry rub stash! I scaled it down to 40 servings, and used it on a pork tenderloin and froze the remainder! Amazing! My mom loved the dish so much she asked me for the recipe. I mixed up another batch of rub, gave half of it as a gift to her in a cute little glass container and stored the rest in my freezer. This is a classic! I recommend using best quality spices; Penzey's is my hands-down favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
excellent rub! I adjusted the serving size down to 6 and had enough for 3 steaks. Loved how the rub created a "crust" on the steak after it was grilled! Husband loved it! He eats ketchup on everything even if it has been marinated but did NOT use it on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Andrews Air Force Base, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States