Jamaican Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Very disappointing. The lime was overpowering, to the point that no spices could come through. However, there was the perfect amount of heat from the habaneros, even though it had no effect on the taste. Marinated for 9 hours, but all I could taste was lime, lime, lime. Doubt I'll try again; I've made jerk chicken using other recipes that tasted far more authentic to the chicken I tasted in Jamaica than this citrus showcase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This was a great recipe. I usually use a commercial Jerk Paste/Marinade which is quite expensive. This was the first time that I made the marinade from scratch. Using freshly ground allspice and ginger made this recipe so much better than the store-bought paste. I made the following changes: added a tablespoon of rum, used 1/2 cup of water, substituted the habanero for jalepeno pepper, added a teaspoon of ground clove and bone-in chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Oh, so good! I didn't have the Habeneros and used a couple of Jalepenos from the garden (seeded to tame it a bit). I added another tablespoon of oil to the basting jerk mix and cooked the chicken on the charcoal grill.....tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is such an awesome recipe,I love trying new things and I'm so glad I found this recipe and tried it,I ate it with Jamaican rice and peas such a good combination,my boyfriend can't get enough of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is completely par for a good jerk seasoning, and it could be put on chicken, pork, beef, goat, lamb, fish, shrimp, it doesn't matter, it'd still be good. However, those that don't like too much spice (first of all stay out of the caribbean/latin america, but if not then...) don't marinade this for so long. Instead, stab your meat with a fork a bunch of times and add the paste only just before cooking and use the excess to baste it. If you do like the spice (meaning "heat") to be strong, do this and marinade, and add like 4 extra peppers because 2 over 6 chicken breasts is just silly. Also, this recipe needs rum. I prefer spiced but white is fine. It tenderizes your meat. Good additives: (fresh, cubed) ginger, rosemary (don't ask why, it's just good), amchoor (indian grocery stores-- not traditional but great, it's powdered green mango, very tart), cloves, mine usually has cumin and cilantro, but I learned it from a trinidadian... Serve with black beans and coconut rice. Very authentic recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I used bone in, skin on chicken, substituted scotch bonnet peppers for habaneros, and baked it in the oven on a cookie sheet (use aluminum foil underneath to minimize cleanup) for 45 minutes at 400 then put it on broil to crisp up the skin. Worked well, but needed more spice. Also recommend putting the chicken and marinade in a freezer bag, squeezing out the air, to get better coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Sounds wonderful, but those habanero peppers scare me! I'll use jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
i loved it so much that it hopped out my mouth and went to jamaica and singed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
There are a lot of Jam. Jerk recipes available, this one is as good as any (a little dark rum is a nice addition). But don't add the water, there is plenty in the onions...and it makes no sense at all diluting any rub with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this mind you I was missing a few ingredients and it was great! My kids ate it all up. Will make it again but may try it with ALL the ingredients. (I was missing the nutmeg and ground all spice) I used instead some jamacian seasoning we purchased on our last trip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States