Jamaican Jerk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is completely par for a good jerk seasoning, and it could be put on chicken, pork, beef, goat, lamb, fish, shrimp, it doesn't matter, it'd still be good. However, those that don't like too much spice (first of all stay out of the caribbean/latin america, but if not then...) don't marinade this for so long. Instead, stab your meat with a fork a bunch of times and add the paste only just before cooking and use the excess to baste it. If you do like the spice (meaning "heat") to be strong, do this and marinade, and add like 4 extra peppers because 2 over 6 chicken breasts is just silly. Also, this recipe needs rum. I prefer spiced but white is fine. It tenderizes your meat. Good additives: (fresh, cubed) ginger, rosemary (don't ask why, it's just good), amchoor (indian grocery stores-- not traditional but great, it's powdered green mango, very tart), cloves, mine usually has cumin and cilantro, but I learned it from a trinidadian... Serve with black beans and coconut rice. Very authentic recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I used bone in, skin on chicken, substituted scotch bonnet peppers for habaneros, and baked it in the oven on a cookie sheet (use aluminum foil underneath to minimize cleanup) for 45 minutes at 400 then put it on broil to crisp up the skin. Worked well, but needed more spice. Also recommend putting the chicken and marinade in a freezer bag, squeezing out the air, to get better coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Sounds wonderful, but those habanero peppers scare me! I'll use jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
i loved it so much that it hopped out my mouth and went to jamaica and singed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
There are a lot of Jam. Jerk recipes available, this one is as good as any (a little dark rum is a nice addition). But don't add the water, there is plenty in the onions...and it makes no sense at all diluting any rub with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this mind you I was missing a few ingredients and it was great! My kids ate it all up. Will make it again but may try it with ALL the ingredients. (I was missing the nutmeg and ground all spice) I used instead some jamacian seasoning we purchased on our last trip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
We all loved this! We used only 1 onion and no green onion. And we used chicken on the bone - 2 breasts and 5 legs. It was awesome!! Even my picky 4 and 7 year olds loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Seemed like quite a lot of trouble for just an okay chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emrald5769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I had to tone down (eliminate) the heat due to the Irish palettes I cook for in my house, and even though it may not be "authentic", it was delicious none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Just ok, although I didn't follow the recipe exactly. It was too cold to grill out so I ended up baking the chicken in the juices instead (also didn't have time to marinate). No one complained about it, but no one seemed to love it either. Probably won't make again unless I have time to grill and marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Chef John's Jerk Chicken Wings

Caramelized chicken wings marinated in spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States