Jamaican Fried Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Wow, these are so good! I had a difficult time making them flat like patties, so they were more biscuit shaped. While they drained on the paper towels, I dusted them with just a pinch of seasoned salt. By the way, they taste good dipped in pizza sauce. Delicious, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I was making a big pot of ham & beans and wanted a good homemade bread to go with it but I was out of cornmeal. I thought I'd give my favorite recipe site a try and see what I could come up with. Boy am I glad I did! I didn't think this bread would go well with ham & beans, but the rave reviews really intrigued me. I can't believe a handfull of such simple ingredients can taste so good just because they're fried. Some crumbled the bread into their bowl of soup, some ate them with butter. One even put a little jam on part of one. Delicious all the way around and everyone loved them. I even got a "thumbs up" from my super-finicky 9-yr-old. Now, THAT'S good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great recipe!! Had these with Saltfish and Callaloo....my family could not get enough of these. The second time I made these, I did try to substitute 2 cups of white flour with whole wheat flour..my husband was not impressed although I liked the healthier alternative. Do try to flatten them down though as they do rise a bit. Either way a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
We looooove these guys! We cook up some corned beef (with onions and green peppers) and eat these two recipes together. Break apart the dumpling and scoops some meat in. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darayman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed these thank you for the recipe. However I topped them with cinnamon sugar while they were cooling a bit. everyone in my family scarfed them up! I did get 1 though. I can see they would probably be good as well dusted with powdered sugar as well. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coffee0ooYummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
My Jamaican boyfriend loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
The true Jamaican name for them is "Johnny cakes" My cook there made them for every meal for me. I also loved Jamaican Meat pies (recipe here in Allrecipes) and fried plantains or fried bananas (I loved both)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCarma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I followed this reciped exactly. I'm not sure what happened. They were really hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This came out perfect for my ackee & saltfish, while frying them my nephew 2 kept comming and screaming because they were too hot and he didn't want to wait for them to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MssweetTalk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hackney, Greater London, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
These came out perfect and were delicious. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dumplings

See how to make light, savory homemade dumplings for stews.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States