Jamaican Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
What a great recipe! Thought we could reduce the salt, but it really needs it. Add a little tumeric for health too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Scott Henson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie P.
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Easy to make and very tasty! I let the chicken absorb their spices for 3 hours. The recipe fails to mention when to add the water. I added it with the potatoes, carrots, etc I may use boiling water next time (saw it in another recipe). I had this with rice and it's awesome! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camsmum
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Wanted to clarify about adding the water. You add the water after you add the chicken, carrots, potatoes and seasonings to the oil and curry mixture. You add it gradually as the mixture thickens. You can add more or less water as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
What about the 3 cups of water? It's listed as an ingredient but not in the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Family and I loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I love this dish! It has been my favorite since I was a child. Reminds me exactly how my mother used to make it. The only thing I recommend for this recipe is to not add the salt because the seasoned salt is already salty and adding more salt will ruin the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Antonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Super tasty! I would have given five stars but I made a few tweaks and it was also a bit too salty. Still highly edible but next time I will reduce the salt by 1/2 tsp. For substitutions I replaced powdered garlic and onion with fresh. And replaced the chille pepper with a splash of cayene pepper. The fresh ginger root with 1/2 tap of dried. I threw in approx two cups of baby potatoes and a handful of baby carrots. I'll definetly make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This tastes just like the curry chicken my mom's friend from St. Kitts used to make when I was young. As this is the exact taste I was going for, and I've never made curried chicken before, I'm giving the recipe 5 stars. The only problem I ran into is that the recipe doesn't mention when to add the water. I did so about half way through step 2 when I realized the error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made it for the first and my family and friends loved it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States