Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were delicious! Like several of the other chefs I added egg to my mix. My partner and I really enjoy making Veggie Patties and have tried several of our own creations,and this recipe served as a great base to start with. Admittedly I am a professional chef so most recipes I only use as a guide. A few pointers for those having problems with binding. Once my beans are cooked I slightly cool and use my kitchen aid to make a a chunky bean paste. I would also add the rice to this mix (although I substituted quinoa instead). Also if you are unsure if the mix will hold try a mini test pattie. This will also allow you to adjust seasoning as beans take a lot of salt, and flavors come out with heat. Additional suggestions are try adding some grated carrot, fresh parsley, and also can go half and half with black beans and another of your favorites. As well, I like to make a large batch of the mix and make my burger for dinner and shape the rest onto a parchment lined cookie sheet and freeze patties. Once frozen I portion them into packs. Make sure to keep a layer between them or it wont be fun pulling them apart! Jerk Mayo and cheese also top these off nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Never having eaten, let alone made a veggie burger - I have to say that these were pretty good! I halved the recipe and still made 4 good sized burgers. Made exactly as written. For those reviewers who said that these didn't form into patties and crumbled when cooking, you didn't follow the directions! Mixing thoroughly with your hands is a MUST. I started out mixing with a spoon and the mixture was dry and loose, then I dove in with my hands and really mixed and mashed it up and that made all the difference! Had NO problems forming patties and very minimal crumbling, only around the edges when cooking. There is no need for an egg in this recipe if you follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I both make and buy a lot of vegetarian burgers, and this recipe is the best by far! I've made these twice now for my family - once on buns with melted cheese, lettuce, sauteed onion and tomato, and once as just patties with our favorite Jerk sauce, sweet peppers, and onions to complete a Caribbean themed meal - both were complete hits! Having small children I substituted the habanero with a jalapeno, and also used a dash of cinnamon instead of the allspice, as I didn't have any on hand. I made the recipe for 8, using two cans of drained and rinsed black beans. The fresh ginger is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I am sitting here eating THE VERY best veggie burger ever! Thank you for the recipe! I used brown basmati, and homemade whole wheat breadcrumbs. I also added two eggs, and coated with cornmeal for a very nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Edit: I am editing my review and giving it 5 stars because I did not read the instructions properly the first time I made these. You do not need egg - mashing the mixture holds it together great. Such a wonderful recipe, thank you! Great recipe! I would've given it 5 stars, but it was really lacking a main ingredient as others have stated: egg. We used 2 and the burgers held together great, even on our grill. Otherwise it would've fallen completely apart. Topped with lettuce, tomato and slices of avocado, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Not sure what the last person did wrong but these burgers formed excellent patties - so good that we were even able to BBQ them which was a welcome change from frying. The only thing I changed in the recipe was that I used 2 cans of black beans and used Basmati brown rice. The taste was awesome - not too hot but enough to know you were eating something with heat. I will definitely be making these again. The recipe also make a lot more than six patties which is OK because I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cold Spring, New York, USA
Living In: Cosby, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Awesome tasting veggie burgers, better than any we've tasted before! I needed to add agg to bind this together although the recipe doesn't call for it. Three vegetarian friends have placed this recipe on their FAVORITES list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I believe this recipe could make T-Rex less of a carnivore. I made this exactly as stated and cannot think of any alterations to make. I used a 3"x1/2" round cutter to form "burgers" and served it as a sandwich burger with the typical condiments. Using the cutter, I had ten servings and put the leftovers in the freezer for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was soooo good! The only thing I would add is an egg to help hold it together which I'll try next time I make it. I served it with some sliced mango which really made it tasty. Also, I used a jalepeno instead of habanero. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These had an unusual taste for a veggie burger but we enjoyed them. I give it a 4 because I had trouble with the patties staying together. I did substitute ground oats for the bread crumbs which maybe could have caused the problem. If you are looking for something different yet east, this recipe is great. If you are looking for something resembling more of a "traditional veggie burger" this may not be the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States