Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I really didn't enjoy these burgers. They had an unpleasant taste, and I had to drown them in ketchup and cover them in cheese in order to choke them down. The only change I made to the recipe was adding an egg to the mixture to keep it from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
AWESOME. I added an extra dusting of all the spices and it was a huge hit...also, it made super fatty burgers. Will definitely be making this again. Have already passed on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
One of our favs. Instead of forming burgers, I put 1/2 of the mix into a pie plate lined with a Pillsbury pie crust and bake 350 for about 30-40 minutes until brown. I freeze the rest of the mix for use at a later date. The taste brings me back to a small restaurant that I visited in Jamaica. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
These were really tasty. Some things to note though...these do not take only 17 minutes to make. We made these the other night and it took well over an hour. Additionally, the recipe makes a lot more than it states. We made it for 4, and we have enough for 6-8 burgers. We also had to use two eggs to keep things together. I found it important to REALLY smash the ingredients together with your hands to make everything stick. It was a tasty recipe, but due to how long it actually takes to make, I dont think we'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These were tasty. However the recipe took much longer than stated and made much more..and they were very crumbly. Added an egg and it held better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These burgers are very tasty, but I found the mixture to be too dry and couldn't get them to hold together so I added an egg and used less rice. Also when you press the black bean a little it makes the mixture stickier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
First off, for those making these burgers, note that these are HUGE burgers. You make these, and your family or friends will feast like royalty. This is a great recipe to make, but it's not too easy. Still, the end result is delicious, and that habañero kick is great. I made sure to toss the seeds in for that heat. The ginger measurement in this recipe is a bit much, so I might tone it down next time I make it. However, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Fantastic burgers! These have a great flavor and, if you add the breadcrumbs a little at a time until you are able to form the patties, they come together beautifully. I didn't fry the patties, I baked them and even then they stayed together and weren't dry at all. This recipe is a real winner. Thanks, Hannah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Didn't really have much of an issue with "crumbling." Although it does happen just a tiny bit around the edges of the patties during flipping, I found it far less troublesome than most other veggie burgers I've made. No need to add any "adhesive" into this recipe -- just really dig down deep with your hands & SQUISH when forming your patties. We loved the nutmeg flavor (I subbed cinnamon for the allspice and wheat germ for half the bread crumbs.) Next time I will decrease the amount of onion - 1 large is plenty. Served on Belles Hamburger Buns from AR, with muenster cheese & tomato. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Great flavor, too thick, makes more than recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nexus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States