Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Delicious! I've had better luck with leaving some liquid in the beans and pureeing them, which helps the burgers stick together. I've also used oats instead of bread crumbs, however when using oats I use only 1 1/2 cups and it's necessary to leave a bit more liquid in and allow the oats to stand in the liquid for about 20 minutes otherwise it's sort of like eating newspaper. :) This recipe is very flexible and from the basic ingredients, your favorite seasonings and substitutions can be easily adapted to suit your fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Peacenik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I can't believe how good this is. Not looking for something that would "spice me out"...this was "spicey" enough with room to heat it up to taste. For the first time making it, I followed the recipe except using Quinoa as a reviewer suggested. It's a complete protein and significantly boosts the nutritional value without compromising texture. Also, I didn't add salt. I hadn't used Jalapeno peppers before and almost think it could have used another small one. I'm not ready for a habanero pepper yet. After mushing it together, I didn't need an egg. A vegetarian keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made it tonight and it was a super hit. I made a few subtle changes. 1. Replaced habanero with Chili flakes and green Chili as we did not have habanero at home. 2. We love ginger so apart from the grated ginger, I added some julienned ginger as well. 3. Didn't have allspice or nutmeg; used only garam masala. 4. Cooked the spices with onions and garlic. 5. Added half lemon juice. This was a great hit and thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was really good - but to say it took only 2 minutes to prep is way out of line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Greenlawn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
My husband is a die hard carnivore and he absolutely loved these! Since my daughter has Celiac's disease, I toasted 6 slices of Udi Gluten-free bread and tore them into small pieces for the bread crumbs and then ate them bunless. I smooshed the mixture together by hand until it was the texture of raw hamburger and they held together well. We all thought these were the best veggie burgers we'd ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn58

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I messed these up. I tried to use oatmeal as a binder because I was out of breadcrumbs. I used brown basmati rice (maybe not sticky enough). I added 2 eggs because they were dry. They weren't very beany and ended up being more of a black bean fried rice which tasted OK but didn't fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Mix with your hands an an egg isn't needed. Very tasty but habaneros aren't readily available here so I used a jalapeno instead. It was still quit good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
awesome! This is the first recipe off of All recipes that my husband truly liked and got excited about eating again. We love all the different flavors in this burger. Definitely recommend. We used 1 teaspoon of the garlic in a jar and that was good for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My first attempt at making a veggie burger and they turned out GREAT! I used brown rice instead of white and put them on the grill. The consistancy was so similar to a beef burger and with the brown rice, it even looked like a beef burger. Next time I might leave out the ginger and add more garlic. Definitely need to use your hands to get them to stick together and I had absolutely no trouble with them falling apart on the grill. This recipe made 8 very large burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was my first vegetarian burger and I wasn't disappointed! Followed directions exactly and they were not too dry. If mixed with hands an egg is not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States