Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Awesome tasting veggie burgers, better than any we've tasted before! I needed to add agg to bind this together although the recipe doesn't call for it. Three vegetarian friends have placed this recipe on their FAVORITES list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Not sure what the last person did wrong but these burgers formed excellent patties - so good that we were even able to BBQ them which was a welcome change from frying. The only thing I changed in the recipe was that I used 2 cans of black beans and used Basmati brown rice. The taste was awesome - not too hot but enough to know you were eating something with heat. I will definitely be making these again. The recipe also make a lot more than six patties which is OK because I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cold Spring, New York, USA
Living In: Cosby, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Edit: I am editing my review and giving it 5 stars because I did not read the instructions properly the first time I made these. You do not need egg - mashing the mixture holds it together great. Such a wonderful recipe, thank you! Great recipe! I would've given it 5 stars, but it was really lacking a main ingredient as others have stated: egg. We used 2 and the burgers held together great, even on our grill. Otherwise it would've fallen completely apart. Topped with lettuce, tomato and slices of avocado, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Never having eaten, let alone made a veggie burger - I have to say that these were pretty good! I halved the recipe and still made 4 good sized burgers. Made exactly as written. For those reviewers who said that these didn't form into patties and crumbled when cooking, you didn't follow the directions! Mixing thoroughly with your hands is a MUST. I started out mixing with a spoon and the mixture was dry and loose, then I dove in with my hands and really mixed and mashed it up and that made all the difference! Had NO problems forming patties and very minimal crumbling, only around the edges when cooking. There is no need for an egg in this recipe if you follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was soooo good! The only thing I would add is an egg to help hold it together which I'll try next time I make it. I served it with some sliced mango which really made it tasty. Also, I used a jalepeno instead of habanero. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This was a great burger. Put cheese and salsa on the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These were great. I would definitely make them again. My young daughter was not crazy about the onions but otherwise a very flavorful veggie burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I am sitting here eating THE VERY best veggie burger ever! Thank you for the recipe! I used brown basmati, and homemade whole wheat breadcrumbs. I also added two eggs, and coated with cornmeal for a very nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This recipe is very good. The allspice gives it a "jerk" flavor known well in Jamaica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
These are great! We used Jalapeno instead of Habanero pepper (because that's what we had). Also subbed in brown rice. Had no trouble forming patties or with crumbling. I'm a stubborn omnivore with an aspiring herbivore for a wife. I think I liked these even more than she did! Top'em off with a slice of pepperjack, red onion, and some homemade guacamole! The only thing I will change is to cut the recipe in half. This made a ton of burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States