Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
First off, for those making these burgers, note that these are HUGE burgers. You make these, and your family or friends will feast like royalty. This is a great recipe to make, but it's not too easy. Still, the end result is delicious, and that habañero kick is great. I made sure to toss the seeds in for that heat. The ginger measurement in this recipe is a bit much, so I might tone it down next time I make it. However, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Fantastic burgers! These have a great flavor and, if you add the breadcrumbs a little at a time until you are able to form the patties, they come together beautifully. I didn't fry the patties, I baked them and even then they stayed together and weren't dry at all. This recipe is a real winner. Thanks, Hannah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Didn't really have much of an issue with "crumbling." Although it does happen just a tiny bit around the edges of the patties during flipping, I found it far less troublesome than most other veggie burgers I've made. No need to add any "adhesive" into this recipe -- just really dig down deep with your hands & SQUISH when forming your patties. We loved the nutmeg flavor (I subbed cinnamon for the allspice and wheat germ for half the bread crumbs.) Next time I will decrease the amount of onion - 1 large is plenty. Served on Belles Hamburger Buns from AR, with muenster cheese & tomato. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Great flavor, too thick, makes more than recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nexus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
My husband and I had our vegetarian friends over as guests for a summer picnic. I had never cooked for strict vegetarians before. This recipe sounded enticing. The result was exceptional! Even the meat eaters were requesting these burgers instead of the ones made of ground beef! I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Absolutely amazing! We had friends over for dinner and they were floored by how good these were. I used besmati brown rice and fresh beans. Definitely increased prep time but made it soooooo worth it! No need for eggs - use your hands people! I will be making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe is incredible! We added fresh tomato slices and a little bit of mayonnaise to the sandwiches. It definitely made more than the recipe stated, we made 8 good sized patties. The leftovers were incredible, will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Nope, not going to be made again. No flavour, HEAVY and just uninteresting as a meal. Way too much carb for a person to cunsume in one sitting. Held together fine once I added an egg- it is really needed due to all thy dry ingredients. Recipe says prep is 2 minutes... sure if you have chopped onions and precooked rice in the fridge but that should be included in the prep time. Oh and what makes these Jamaican?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and couldn't get the burgers to form, i had to add 2 eggs. They were good. I would make them again. My husband liked them better leftover. We had them on whole wheat buns, I added either horseradish mayo or wasabi mayo for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These turned out PERFECT!!!! I added about 1/2 cup of sauteed portabello mushrooms and smashed the black beans with a potato masher. They were a big hit, especially with my finicky veggie burger connoisseur hubby. I'll definitely add these to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Spicy Burgers with Melon and Jicama Salad

See how to make spicy grilled burgers with a healthy side salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States