Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This recipe was fairly bland and came out more like turkey stuffing than a burger. The dry spices got mostly drowned out by all the carbs. Also, I had expected these burgers to look dark like a hamburger based on the photos and the fact that it has black beans in it, but they came out very light... which makes sense in hindsight given that there are a lot of onions, bread crumbs and white rice in the recipe. It did hold together pretty well, so no major complaints there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
these were tasty. to weigh in on the egg/ no egg debate, i made a patty without an egg and it stayed together ok, but, since i'm not a vegan, i thought i would add two eggs to make it stick together better. the patty with the eggs stayed together 1000 times better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great taste and loved the habanero kick. I did feel that it needed a hearty vegetable or something cut the starchy feel, but overall it was still a tasty burger. I will keep the recipe and add my twists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
these are terrific even for your non-veg friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I was hoping that this would be good. I was excited to make this. Didn't taste good. After thinking about it, I agree with another post about the load of carbohydrates. How good can rice, breadcrumbs and a little bit of other stuff on a bread bun be? I am glad others enjoyed. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldayinca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
These burgers were FANTASTIC in flavor and texture! I made as stated with a few alterations. I used coconut oil, brown rice and jalapeno. I didn't have trouble making patties, I just really mashed everything together with my hands. I made six HUGE burger patties. My husband like his, but wasn't crazy over over it like I was. We ate like a hamburger steak with a slice of cheese on top, sauteed spinach and tomatoes as sides. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frieda cooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Well, understand I'm not a vegetarian, but I do enjoy vegetarian meals. This is not one I enjoyed. Flavour was good. Texture was just too pasty for my liking. edited: I liked this recipe better the second day, patty's firmed up, so added another star to my rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
So Easy, So Delicious...Big Hit!!! Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Delicious! I've had better luck with leaving some liquid in the beans and pureeing them, which helps the burgers stick together. I've also used oats instead of bread crumbs, however when using oats I use only 1 1/2 cups and it's necessary to leave a bit more liquid in and allow the oats to stand in the liquid for about 20 minutes otherwise it's sort of like eating newspaper. :) This recipe is very flexible and from the basic ingredients, your favorite seasonings and substitutions can be easily adapted to suit your fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Peacenik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I can't believe how good this is. Not looking for something that would "spice me out"...this was "spicey" enough with room to heat it up to taste. For the first time making it, I followed the recipe except using Quinoa as a reviewer suggested. It's a complete protein and significantly boosts the nutritional value without compromising texture. Also, I didn't add salt. I hadn't used Jalapeno peppers before and almost think it could have used another small one. I'm not ready for a habanero pepper yet. After mushing it together, I didn't need an egg. A vegetarian keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States