Jamaican Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Excellent. I did mash the black beans. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoKnows
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
It was good. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was a delicious vegetarian option and very filling as well. These flavors worked wonderfully here. One thing I did differently was to lessen the burger patty portion (made 8.) Regular rice works here as well. Aside from its dryness, I was able to keep my patties formed together without the egg as other reviewers mentioned. Work through it very well with the hands to combine. But do whatever you find easier :) Enjoy your burger with your favorite toppings and a sauce to counter the dryness. Lettuce, tomato, Swiss cheese, and burger sauce (mayo, ketchup, Worcestershire mix) paired wonderfully. Good veggie patty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Thanks, Hannah for this awesome recipe! It was a hit at my family's Jamaican theme Christmas party. I made them into sliders with Hawaiian rolls and they worked nicely. Prep time took me quite awhile, but I don't cook much so it probably took a lot longer than it should. But loved the flavor and spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackofnotrades

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Blah, not much flavor & doesn't stick together. To salvage I just fried it up & we ate it. Poor hubby ate most just to get rid of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I used pinto beans instead of black beans, bell pepper instead of the hot variety, and brown rice instead of white rice. I loved the spiciness, and when not sharing with family members, I'll be sure to include the hot pepper! This is a wonderful vegetarian burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I subbed jalapenos for the habanero pepper. Made these for a meal swap so had to be kid-friendly. Otherwise followed the recipe as written. They were a huge hit! I'd love to try them with the habanero. The flavor with the jalapenos was great, but could have used more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Uber delicio-so! Used a jalapeno instead of the habanero, brown rice instead of white, and quick oats instead of breadcrumbs. I mixed them with my hands, and had no problem with them holding together. I baked them at 375 for about 15 minutes. Topped them with avocado and lettuce, and served them with homemade crispy sweet potato chunks for an awesome vegan meal. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Totally delicious, but I was a bit confused. Granted I am a total beginner - but, I took the suggestion of some reviewers and added egg in - except I ended up added three eggs and using a potato masher to help me truly mix things together until I could do it better by hand. The mashing and the eggs helped me a lot with keeping it in one piece. And I definitely got a lot more than 6 "servings," ... i.e. - use a BIG bowl. For any of you that have the NuWave like me, I enjoyed them a little crispy - so I put them in on about 8 heat for about 6 minutes on each side. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Beautiful! These burgers were absolutely delicious and even the leftovers were tasty the next day! I served mine in basically the same way as Hannah, however I used a lovely whole wheat bun and some Swiss Lorraine cheese. I also used my own recipe of pineapple and onion relish, puree half a white onion and a can of pineapple chunks in a blender. then I top it all off with a little mayo and shriracha mixed together for a spicy kick! Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Portobello Burgers with Quick Couscous Salad

Make quick vegetarian burgers and a simple couscous side salad.

Turkify™ Mealtime with Delicious Turkey Burgers

Turkify™ mealtime with turkey burger patties and all your favorite toppings.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States