Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I think its amazing and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVEJES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Tried this today, know this recipe has been up for a while but the taste was great, I just added a little cayenne for spice. Thank you for a quick and easy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was pretty good with the changes suggested by others- I added much more of the spice mix, ginger, h Jalapeño, all spice, and cloves. I might keep the thyme at 1tsp the next time. I also added a potato that I sautéed in the pan after browning the meat along with shredded carrots. Tried with pastry dough ready made and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
followed the recipe with the tips in comments about nutmeg, allspice and cloves. proper dough prep is key with cold butter, water, and dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
You will definitely work up your appetite while making these, but it's worth it in the end! I suggest a few changes: 1) You will DEFINITELY need to double the crust recipe. I was snacking on the meat the whole time and still had to make extra. 2) The meat mixture is a little thyme-y, so I'll probably reduce that a bit next time. 3) I added some extra curry powder to the meat mixture, and it was perfect. I probably added about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. 4) It might be because my patties were pretty small, but the first batch turned out a little crispier than I wanted. I'm baking my second tray for 25 minutes instead. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
i just did these babies and they came out really good. I am from the Caribbean so are really close to the originals. Nice crusty crust and moist inside. Very delectable!!The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Meat is delicious, but you definitely need to double the size of the dough. Only made itty-bitty sizes but still had tons of beef let. Good recipe, though; very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysticorient

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The pastry crust is delicious, but my preference is for a more spicy filling. The filling doesn't quite have that kick that I enjoy. I wish I'd thought to taste it before I formed the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe but doubled it. I ended up with 22 patties. We all loved them. It's a good thing we all love curry though because they are definately spicy! As we like it! I purposely made more than enough for our meal because my 20 year old loves to come in and grab a snack in the evening. We actually like them even better when we reheat them in the microwave. The dough held up nicely: no rubbery or overdone dough after microwaving. Will be making these again! I will try to freeze a few on the next go around to see if they hold up to being frozen, thawed and reheated! I sure hope so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States