Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Our daughter is studying the Caribbean in Social Studies and had to choose a recipe and make it and explain the steps. This was very easy for her and they are amazing! so easy and so good! Our son said "if these were in a contest they would win first prize"...he is a big fan! He has a dairy allergy and i was worried they would not turn out using his "butter" but they did and tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Crumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I've made this before and loved it. This time I was short on time so used one reviewers suggestion of puff pastry. Much quicker and very good, although probably not as authentic - and I really love the homemade dough. I used both pieces of pastry, cutting each into 9 pieces and rolling out a bit. The amounts came out exactly (no extra meat) for the 18 pastries! I made the meat exactly as stated and had no problem with dryness and everyone loved them. But with the puff pastry they aren't as filling as the original, so we ate more. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy P.
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I just got back from Jamaica last week. After having the meat patties there I HAD to try them when I got home! This recipe was great! Totally hit the spot. other than adding a little cheese & using spicy curry I didn't change a thing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I think its amazing and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adolfo Guzman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVEJES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Tried this today, know this recipe has been up for a while but the taste was great, I just added a little cayenne for spice. Thank you for a quick and easy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was pretty good with the changes suggested by others- I added much more of the spice mix, ginger, h Jalapeño, all spice, and cloves. I might keep the thyme at 1tsp the next time. I also added a potato that I sautéed in the pan after browning the meat along with shredded carrots. Tried with pastry dough ready made and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
followed the recipe with the tips in comments about nutmeg, allspice and cloves. proper dough prep is key with cold butter, water, and dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
You will definitely work up your appetite while making these, but it's worth it in the end! I suggest a few changes: 1) You will DEFINITELY need to double the crust recipe. I was snacking on the meat the whole time and still had to make extra. 2) The meat mixture is a little thyme-y, so I'll probably reduce that a bit next time. 3) I added some extra curry powder to the meat mixture, and it was perfect. I probably added about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. 4) It might be because my patties were pretty small, but the first batch turned out a little crispier than I wanted. I'm baking my second tray for 25 minutes instead. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
i just did these babies and they came out really good. I am from the Caribbean so are really close to the originals. Nice crusty crust and moist inside. Very delectable!!The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States