Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I must have lost some spice as I had to drain the fat but that made them all the better for my kids and I to eat - I also only used 1 tsp of curry in crust for my benefit - other than the lack of hot my husband said they are exactly like the ones he had in Jamaica and can't wait for me to make them again but wants all the spice and will take the extras to work. Thanks for a quick supper and easy lunches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I grew up eating Jamacian Patties and in recent years have moved to an area where I unable to find them. These are amazing and bring back alot of memories...my tastebuds thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I really liked it and will try to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Shew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I added a little garlic and ginger and these were great. I was a little worried about rolling out the dough, it seemed too dry, I cooled it for an hour and it rolled out fine. Also, after I crimped the edges with a fork I trimmed them so they looked pretty. This recipe made me love curry - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I was not to fond of this recipe, but it very well could be just me. My husband really enjoyed it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I only made the pastry portion, which was very easy even for me, and turned out very nice and flaky. It was almost like an indian samosa - I filled it with leftover lamb curry and peas. I used grease proof paper to roll it out as I added a little too much water and it was a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I used this recipe for the dough only. I made this to go along with beef samosas and they turned out pretty good. I thought the curry powder added a good flavor but it needed more than just a pinch of salt. Maybe close to a teaspoon. I thought the finished product was a little on the dry side, but I'm not an expert at making pastry dough. Probably won't make again but I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
A bit too dry and not enough flavour. Pastry could be better, but not too bad if I changed a few things, but then again, I'm rating THIS recipe, right? NOT my Version of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
The beef mixture is fabulous in this recipe! VERY tasty. Next time I will use my pie pastry recipe vs. this dough. Overall it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Wow these are great. I wasn't able to follow recipe exactly and made a few changes. I only used margarine and omitted the shortening for the pastry. I used water and beef boullion instead of beef broth and used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. Also, I added some garlic to the onion when cooking. The pastry was nice and thin and crispy the filling tasty. Try these and I'm sure you will be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States