Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
These are great! Much different from the frozen Jamaican Patties we used to buy from the grocery store - healthier, I'm sure! They are also very filling. I would love to make some changes by adding peas and corn into the filling next time. I also drained the fat and I've made it without breadcrumbs, still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Absolutely delish, of course I added more spices, jerk seasoning, paprika, ginger and such and been of Jamaican parentage I have to say that these patties are great, great recipe and I really love the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
These were good, but I think they need a little more kick. I don't typically like spicy foods, but these were a little bland even for me. I will make them again, but I think I'll add a bit of cayanne pepper or extra onions...maybe even some hot sauce in the meat. I also had to add a little more Crisco to the pastry because it was too dry to form into a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
These are great as snack, or a couple for a meal. I made them for my boss, a caterer, and he was so impressed he asked for the recipe. By far the best compliment from a chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Yum. These were really good. They need a little something though...maybe more spices. I had fun making these too. I'll definitely play around with the recipe and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I found rolling out the pastry time-consuming, but would not skimp with ready-made pie crust. I used ground turkey instead of beef. Scrumptious. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I love this recipe. It's so easy and it's soooooo good. I just added chilli flakes and a wee bit of tomato purée to the beef filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Boulogne-Billancourt, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
My whole family loved this! Next time I might salt the pastry a little more and spice it up, but I wouldn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This recipe was a lot of work and seemed to be kind of dry. I served the leftovers with brown gravy which helped a little bit. The meat mixture (to which I added bits of a boiled potato) was very good but I took others' recommendations and added crushed red pepper, paprika, garlic powder and minced garlic. It's unlikely I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This recipe is good but I'm only giving it 3 stars because its not really Jamaican. Its more of a curried empanada rather than the spicy beef patties that Jamaica & the Bahamas are known for. Reduce the curry in the dough and add a bit of saffron. In the meat filling, use the red curry, not the yellow. The red curry is the hotter curry and that is what gives the patties the 'bite' that island food is known for. Add a bit of finely chopped onion to the meat when cooking. Also, cooking the meat with a bit of jalapeño is done sometimes as well and then when thoroughly cooked, the jalapeño is discarded or pulsed with the meat before being sealed within the pastry. Lastly, the pastry recipe definitely needs to be doubled to yield 10 normal sized patties. This is a great starter recipe and one worthy of being in your box as it leaves all kinds of filling experiemntations open to the imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desihannagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States