Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
double the dough because there will be too much filling. Also, add 1 tsp of cayenne pepper, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cloves and 1 tsp allspice = Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
DELISH! I added allspice, red pepper flakes and chopped sauteed mushrooms but the unaltered version is great too! Be sure to chill dough about 30 minutes so it's easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great recipe! I chopped up a jalapeno pepper and added to the onion and oil until soft. I like mine a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
My husband loved these, but I didn't think they were quite worthy of five stars. Something about the spices didn't quite taste right to me and I wasn't thrilled with the texture of the crust when it came out of the oven. I will say they were a good change for dinner and might consider making them in a bite size portion as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe was ok. It was lacking some bite and flavor of the beef patties i'm used to from the Jamaican restaurants up in N.Y. There should be a note to drain the oil of the beef out before placing them in the pastry shells also. The pastry shells turned out really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I am a terrible and inexperienced cook who was able to create a yummy, yummy meal with this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of shortening b/c that is what I had and turkey instead of beef, but it still became a delicious meal. My 3 year old rolled out the dough herself! I found it to be the perfect amount for 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
My family loved this recipe. They said that it was better than some of the authentic ones they've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I just finished making these exactly as the original recipe stated, and they are perfect just the way they are....My husband is from Barbados and although these patties are certainly not native to Barbados, he loves them....I am going to be the best wife in the world when he gets home!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Yum! Very good! Not very spicy, I added some cayenne to get a bit more kick... b overall, very good! Husband BEGS me to make them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
A group of us in the office are going to Jamaica this weekend, so for a Potluck we had today I made these patties! (In the spirit of things!) I doubled the recipe to make 20 and they all disappeared!! I didn't even get to try one!! I'm giving this 5 stars as the feedback was great!! They were easy to make, although a little time consuming!! Pastry was super fast and easy to handle...I did put the dough in the fridge for 40 mins before rolling it out! Also, added some garlic and allspice into the mix!!! Will make again and will hopefully get to try one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States