Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
My husband loved these, but I didn't think they were quite worthy of five stars. Something about the spices didn't quite taste right to me and I wasn't thrilled with the texture of the crust when it came out of the oven. I will say they were a good change for dinner and might consider making them in a bite size portion as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe was ok. It was lacking some bite and flavor of the beef patties i'm used to from the Jamaican restaurants up in N.Y. There should be a note to drain the oil of the beef out before placing them in the pastry shells also. The pastry shells turned out really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I am a terrible and inexperienced cook who was able to create a yummy, yummy meal with this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of shortening b/c that is what I had and turkey instead of beef, but it still became a delicious meal. My 3 year old rolled out the dough herself! I found it to be the perfect amount for 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
My family loved this recipe. They said that it was better than some of the authentic ones they've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I just finished making these exactly as the original recipe stated, and they are perfect just the way they are....My husband is from Barbados and although these patties are certainly not native to Barbados, he loves them....I am going to be the best wife in the world when he gets home!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Yum! Very good! Not very spicy, I added some cayenne to get a bit more kick... b overall, very good! Husband BEGS me to make them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
A group of us in the office are going to Jamaica this weekend, so for a Potluck we had today I made these patties! (In the spirit of things!) I doubled the recipe to make 20 and they all disappeared!! I didn't even get to try one!! I'm giving this 5 stars as the feedback was great!! They were easy to make, although a little time consuming!! Pastry was super fast and easy to handle...I did put the dough in the fridge for 40 mins before rolling it out! Also, added some garlic and allspice into the mix!!! Will make again and will hopefully get to try one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I knew from looking at the recipe that these patties wouldn't have the spiciness we so enjoyed in Jamaica. Taking cues from desihannagan and Sez (other reviewers) I used 1 and 1/2 times the spices called for and added 1/2 tsp allspice, 2 tsp sugar and approximately 2 TBSP chopped jalapeno peppers. Perfect combination of sweet and heat, according to the husband and son. Will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
We loved the recipe with the few changes I made based on other reviews. 1) Added 2 cloves garlic, shredded carrot, frozen peas, and approx. 1/2 tsp allspice to the meat mixture. 2) Doubled the pastry mix, which made 8 good-sized, hearty patties. Chilled pastry mix while browning beef mix based on another review. Was nervous about how the pastry was working out when I doubled it, needed to add just a little more water so it wasn't super crumbly. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this last night and it was pretty good. However I did not add the bread crumbs! Instead I boiled three eggs and chopped them up and once the meat was done and I put it on the wrap I added the beated eggs and some raisons. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States