Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The end result was fabulous, but like many other reviewers suggested, the proportions of filling to dough is totally out of whack. Since I was only making these for my boyfriend and I, I halved the ingredients for the filling and kept the amounts for the dough the same. I still had a ton of leftover filling, but there was enough dough to make 5 meal-sized patties. I added more curry than was recommended and also added chili powder and paprika. I took another reviewer's suggestion and made the dough in the food processor - made it super easy, the whole meal was done within an hour. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
double the dough because there will be too much filling. Also, add 1 tsp of cayenne pepper, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cloves and 1 tsp allspice = Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
DELISH! I added allspice, red pepper flakes and chopped sauteed mushrooms but the unaltered version is great too! Be sure to chill dough about 30 minutes so it's easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great recipe! I chopped up a jalapeno pepper and added to the onion and oil until soft. I like mine a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
My husband loved these, but I didn't think they were quite worthy of five stars. Something about the spices didn't quite taste right to me and I wasn't thrilled with the texture of the crust when it came out of the oven. I will say they were a good change for dinner and might consider making them in a bite size portion as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This recipe was ok. It was lacking some bite and flavor of the beef patties i'm used to from the Jamaican restaurants up in N.Y. There should be a note to drain the oil of the beef out before placing them in the pastry shells also. The pastry shells turned out really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I am a terrible and inexperienced cook who was able to create a yummy, yummy meal with this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of shortening b/c that is what I had and turkey instead of beef, but it still became a delicious meal. My 3 year old rolled out the dough herself! I found it to be the perfect amount for 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
My family loved this recipe. They said that it was better than some of the authentic ones they've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I just finished making these exactly as the original recipe stated, and they are perfect just the way they are....My husband is from Barbados and although these patties are certainly not native to Barbados, he loves them....I am going to be the best wife in the world when he gets home!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Yum! Very good! Not very spicy, I added some cayenne to get a bit more kick... b overall, very good! Husband BEGS me to make them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States