Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I agree with others, this is great, however i believe that it tastes very much like an indian dish because there was so much curry added. try creating something with more jerk spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Nice recipe! I made it a bit healthier by adding mixed veggies (carrots, corn, peas), and using store bought low fat pie crust. I also added some more spices, and I think this recipe is really adaptable depending on taste. It came out fantastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
What a hit at our party yesturday!! This is a super tasty dish that I will definitely make again. I doubled the dough recipe and trippled the meat recipe and this worked out pretty good. I weighed the dough at 1.5 oz, and I had enough of everything (it made almost 30 pies). This is time consuming but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was time consuming but worth the effort. I made a vegetarian version as well and just crumbled up extra firm tofu instead of ground beef. It turned out delicious. Even though for me it was a lot of work and dishes I will certainly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
didnt work out very well for us...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These were great! I didn't have a big problem with the dough to filling ratio. I rolled the dough really thin so that I could fill it with a bit more. It made six pastries. I had enough mixture leftover for about 1 more pastrie but I just ate the left over because it was so delicious. I never have shortnening in the house and usually substitute butter but I put some bacon fat instead and it was made them so good. Ialso changed up a bit of the spices in the meat mixture. I used red curry and added a tsp if all spice instead of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
As has been mentioned, the dough needs to be doubled. Had a LOT of filling leftover. This is a great "get you started" recipe, but the meat could use a little more seasoning/adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The end result was fabulous, but like many other reviewers suggested, the proportions of filling to dough is totally out of whack. Since I was only making these for my boyfriend and I, I halved the ingredients for the filling and kept the amounts for the dough the same. I still had a ton of leftover filling, but there was enough dough to make 5 meal-sized patties. I added more curry than was recommended and also added chili powder and paprika. I took another reviewer's suggestion and made the dough in the food processor - made it super easy, the whole meal was done within an hour. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
double the dough because there will be too much filling. Also, add 1 tsp of cayenne pepper, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cloves and 1 tsp allspice = Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
DELISH! I added allspice, red pepper flakes and chopped sauteed mushrooms but the unaltered version is great too! Be sure to chill dough about 30 minutes so it's easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States