Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipe and easy to make. Use authentic Jamaican curry powder mix for bext results, not just any curry powder! My family love these and always ask for me to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
LOVE IT! I made this recipe 3 times! I had a difficult time achieving the perfect consistency for the dough though, as it kept crumbling. I did a bit of research and I made use of Emeril Lagasse's recipe for the dough. I sifted the flour with a typical strainer. I also added ground cumin and garam masala (I think these spices add a nice earthy flavor). I divided the margarine and shortening into chunks before adding it to the flour mixture. I then mixed, pinched and crumbled the mixture until it resembles coarse bread crumbs. I added just enough water to make a firm dough, making sure not to overwork it. I wrapped it in Cling Wrap and refrigerated the dough for 1 1/2 hours. I used a rolling pin to roll it out, popped a lid off my Folger's coffee can and used it to trace perfect circles on the dough before cutting it with a knife (believe me, this makes it way easier!). The pastry came out perfectly, but the ground beef....IT WAS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! (I also added a bit of garam marasala and ground cumin to the ground beef mixture). I think the bread crumbs are essential to the texture. I took away a star because of my initial issues with the dough. But I gotta tell you.. the ground beef recipe packs a punch! No wonder my husband requested it 3 times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Made twice now. 1st time, filling is a good base, pastry is so thick and dry no matter how flat you can get it. Thumbs down on the pastry recipe. 2nd time, made filling as normal, added 2 extra teaspoons of curry, 1 teaspoon chili powder, ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper and 2 diced cloves of fresh garlic. Made beef broth with 2 beef bouillons boiled in 9 oz of water. Added all 9 oz to meat mixture. Did not use regular bread crumbs, instead I used 1 cup of panko bread crumbs. Was going to use a different pastry recipe but decided to buy frozen sheets of puff pastry. 1000 times better. Cut each sheet into 9 squares, flatten and folded in meat mixture. Baked 12-15 minutes. The puff pastry is key for this recipe. Trust me, you will pick the puff pastry over the pastry recipe listed. With my changes to the recipe, made it taste like a real jamaican beef patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My whole family loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I really liked the spices in the meat and in the crust on this. The crust however fell apart every time I tried to make this. The only way I could get the dough to close around the patty was to make it really thick and that meant a very dry patty. Tried Emrill's recipe for Jamaican Beef Patties (Crust as follows: * 4 cups all-purpose flour * 2 teaspoons dried turmeric or annatto * 2 teaspoons salt * 8 tablespoons vegetable shortening * 4 ounces (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold * 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons cold water) and that crust worked much better. I can't wait to try this filling with that crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Very tasty & toasty! These are a really good option for a simple meal or snack on chilly days. The dough ended up being bit greasy for my taste, but I loved the spicy flavor. I substituted ground chicken for the beef, and added some frozen mixed veggies. I was surprised how satisfying and flavorful these turned out to be with such simple ingredients. With the exception of the meat, these are made with things I almost always have on hand. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
very good everyone thought i had found them in the grocery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome. Made this for some of my friends at school and they ate them up. Had to hide some away so I could have some for the next day. Even better the following day. Time consuming to make but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Love this recipe. I had to add much more curry powder than stated but it was still really really tasty. I've made it for parties, family functions and barbecues. I never have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenCampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is a good BASE recipe for Jamaican beef patties. However, I did a fair bit of modifications to it, to warrant a 4 or 5 stars in my book. 1) Never make the mistake of just using butter in the pastry. You need shortening to keep it flaky. I made a mistake of just using butter bc I am not too fond of shortening in my diet, and well, the pastry sunk and was very greasy. 2) I added turmeric to the dough, to give it that famous, distinct colour. 3) I added chopped scotch bonnet peppers ( for that wonderful kick ) and some allspice, in order to give it that distinct flavour that is found in most Jamaican dishes. ( If you don't have scotch bonnet peppers readily available, you can substitute with cayenne red pepper )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vida St. John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States