Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My whole family loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I really liked the spices in the meat and in the crust on this. The crust however fell apart every time I tried to make this. The only way I could get the dough to close around the patty was to make it really thick and that meant a very dry patty. Tried Emrill's recipe for Jamaican Beef Patties (Crust as follows: * 4 cups all-purpose flour * 2 teaspoons dried turmeric or annatto * 2 teaspoons salt * 8 tablespoons vegetable shortening * 4 ounces (1 stick) unsalted butter, cold * 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons cold water) and that crust worked much better. I can't wait to try this filling with that crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Very tasty & toasty! These are a really good option for a simple meal or snack on chilly days. The dough ended up being bit greasy for my taste, but I loved the spicy flavor. I substituted ground chicken for the beef, and added some frozen mixed veggies. I was surprised how satisfying and flavorful these turned out to be with such simple ingredients. With the exception of the meat, these are made with things I almost always have on hand. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
very good everyone thought i had found them in the grocery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome. Made this for some of my friends at school and they ate them up. Had to hide some away so I could have some for the next day. Even better the following day. Time consuming to make but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Love this recipe. I had to add much more curry powder than stated but it was still really really tasty. I've made it for parties, family functions and barbecues. I never have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenCampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is a good BASE recipe for Jamaican beef patties. However, I did a fair bit of modifications to it, to warrant a 4 or 5 stars in my book. 1) Never make the mistake of just using butter in the pastry. You need shortening to keep it flaky. I made a mistake of just using butter bc I am not too fond of shortening in my diet, and well, the pastry sunk and was very greasy. 2) I added turmeric to the dough, to give it that famous, distinct colour. 3) I added chopped scotch bonnet peppers ( for that wonderful kick ) and some allspice, in order to give it that distinct flavour that is found in most Jamaican dishes. ( If you don't have scotch bonnet peppers readily available, you can substitute with cayenne red pepper )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vida St. John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This recipe tastes nothing like a Jamaican Beef patty. I was very disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
They were a little dry. My husband loved them. One person suggest adding cloves and allspice....DON'T. Too strong. I would use a chunky sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My guys really liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States