Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I added just a tiny little dash of nutmeg and it was perfect! Huge hit at my house. Love the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I have made this for many get togethers and never take home leftovers. I make it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made these the other day, and I added a TON more spices. I love spicy hot food. I added a tbsp of curry, smoked paprika, cayenne, and about 1/4 cup of death sauce, sooooo much better when they're HOT !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Fantastic and completely authentic! I visited family in Jamaica a few years ago and we ate these all the time. I've been looking for a recipe ever since. These are less greasy than the ones I had in Jamaica, but for me that is a good thing. They looked great and tasted even better. I will make this recipe over and over. This recipe makes about 8 medium sized patties. One fills me up, but make two per person if everyone's hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made these for a themed potluck girl's night dinner, the theme obviously being Jamaica! Everybody loved them! I did make some changes based on some other reviews, which I feel really made a difference. I doubled the spices, used red curry powder, chopped one jalapeno and sauteed it with the onion, added 1/4 tsp all spice to the spice mix, and I cooked the ground beef and drained it before adding the spices so as not to loose any flavor while draining the grease. I did use premade pie crust instead of making my own as I did not have everything I needed to make the dough myself. I thought they turned out wonderful, perfect amount of spiciness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TabbyGray01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Made the meat according to the recipe and it was terrific. Not exactly like the N.Y. patty I remember but good nonetheless. I used dough from a Filipino empanda recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipe and easy to make. Use authentic Jamaican curry powder mix for bext results, not just any curry powder! My family love these and always ask for me to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
LOVE IT! I made this recipe 3 times! I had a difficult time achieving the perfect consistency for the dough though, as it kept crumbling. I did a bit of research and I made use of Emeril Lagasse's recipe for the dough. I sifted the flour with a typical strainer. I also added ground cumin and garam masala (I think these spices add a nice earthy flavor). I divided the margarine and shortening into chunks before adding it to the flour mixture. I then mixed, pinched and crumbled the mixture until it resembles coarse bread crumbs. I added just enough water to make a firm dough, making sure not to overwork it. I wrapped it in Cling Wrap and refrigerated the dough for 1 1/2 hours. I used a rolling pin to roll it out, popped a lid off my Folger's coffee can and used it to trace perfect circles on the dough before cutting it with a knife (believe me, this makes it way easier!). The pastry came out perfectly, but the ground beef....IT WAS ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! (I also added a bit of garam marasala and ground cumin to the ground beef mixture). I think the bread crumbs are essential to the texture. I took away a star because of my initial issues with the dough. But I gotta tell you.. the ground beef recipe packs a punch! No wonder my husband requested it 3 times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Made twice now. 1st time, filling is a good base, pastry is so thick and dry no matter how flat you can get it. Thumbs down on the pastry recipe. 2nd time, made filling as normal, added 2 extra teaspoons of curry, 1 teaspoon chili powder, ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper and 2 diced cloves of fresh garlic. Made beef broth with 2 beef bouillons boiled in 9 oz of water. Added all 9 oz to meat mixture. Did not use regular bread crumbs, instead I used 1 cup of panko bread crumbs. Was going to use a different pastry recipe but decided to buy frozen sheets of puff pastry. 1000 times better. Cut each sheet into 9 squares, flatten and folded in meat mixture. Baked 12-15 minutes. The puff pastry is key for this recipe. Trust me, you will pick the puff pastry over the pastry recipe listed. With my changes to the recipe, made it taste like a real jamaican beef patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My whole family loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States