Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These turn out tasting nothing like authentic Jamaican beef patties and the list of ingredients is incomplete. Also, the patties are very, very small. If you really want to make these more authentic tasting, you *must* add something spicy to the meat filling and add more salt, because the patties will be very bland if prepared as directed. Fresh or dry hot pepper should work. The list of ingredients calls for 1/4 cup of margarine and 1/4 cup of shortening. You will use *all* of this while preparing the pastry shell. When you get to the step that requires cooking the onions, the steps call for you to melt 1/4 cup of margarine that is NOT included in the list of ingredients. Not a big deal, since this is a common ingredient; just be prepared. The recipe says to cut dough into 10 equally-sized portions; these will turn out very small if you do this. Instead, either completely double the amount of dough ingredients, or make just 5 equally-sized portions. Even after stuffing my very small shells with meat filling, I had half of the filling left over, so you shouldn't have to double this part of the recipe. Pro: The crust is very tasty. I'm looking forward to making this again for the crust alone! Yum! Caution: Do not use store-bought pie crust. You will be sadly disappointed. Summary: This was a lot of work for something so bland and the patties were very small. With a few modifications, this dish could be a hit for your friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rxbunnie
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Of all the recipes I could find on the net, this was the best one to start from. I also doubled the pastry ingredients, and made 8 medium sized patties. I added red pepper flakes to the filling, but made the mistake of not testing my meat before filling the patties. The filling is kind of bland, but great as a started for you to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rxbunnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very close to the real thing, Try using ground tumeric instead of curry in the dough and for that extra kick jamacians use 2 finely chopped scotch bonnet or habanaro peppers. Now this is sure to give some of you that extra island spice you're looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
these were very good, almost as good as the ones from the Jamacian place around the corner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I really enjoyed the patties,they were a hit with my family.they were really good.yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I lovemyfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was my first attempt at making beef patties and overall I was pleased but did not like the pastry at all. The beef smelled delicious and was very tasty. I doubled the recipe for the meat and pastry but would have needed to quadruple the pastry to have enough for all of the meat. I only gave this recipe four stars because I followed the the pastry dough instructtions exactly but it was a tough ball of dough. It was hard to roll and did not have much flavor. I will definately try the meat recipe again but will use another pastry recipe like someone suggested. This recipe would have been awesome if the dough was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Dough: refrigerate for 1/2 hour to firm. Meat mixture: add 2 tbsp. brown sugar, few sprinkles of hot sauce, pinch each of nutmeg and allspice. Yum! Also, brush dough with water; no need for egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These came out phenomenal!!! My husband couldn't keep his hands off of them!!! I will definitely incorporate this into the rotation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This isn't what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eggroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
It's not authentic but I still gave it a 5. We go back to this all the time! Since the edges of this dough can get burnt easily, I found that folding over and crimping to seal ,like a dumpling style, works best for us. Sometimes, we would use small wonton wrappers and deep fry them. This also need a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States