Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amy P.
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I just got back from Jamaica last week. After having the meat patties there I HAD to try them when I got home! This recipe was great! Totally hit the spot. other than adding a little cheese & using spicy curry I didn't change a thing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I think its amazing and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adolfo Guzman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVEJES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Tried this today, know this recipe has been up for a while but the taste was great, I just added a little cayenne for spice. Thank you for a quick and easy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was pretty good with the changes suggested by others- I added much more of the spice mix, ginger, h Jalapeño, all spice, and cloves. I might keep the thyme at 1tsp the next time. I also added a potato that I sautéed in the pan after browning the meat along with shredded carrots. Tried with pastry dough ready made and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
followed the recipe with the tips in comments about nutmeg, allspice and cloves. proper dough prep is key with cold butter, water, and dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
You will definitely work up your appetite while making these, but it's worth it in the end! I suggest a few changes: 1) You will DEFINITELY need to double the crust recipe. I was snacking on the meat the whole time and still had to make extra. 2) The meat mixture is a little thyme-y, so I'll probably reduce that a bit next time. 3) I added some extra curry powder to the meat mixture, and it was perfect. I probably added about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. 4) It might be because my patties were pretty small, but the first batch turned out a little crispier than I wanted. I'm baking my second tray for 25 minutes instead. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
i just did these babies and they came out really good. I am from the Caribbean so are really close to the originals. Nice crusty crust and moist inside. Very delectable!!The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Meat is delicious, but you definitely need to double the size of the dough. Only made itty-bitty sizes but still had tons of beef let. Good recipe, though; very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysticorient

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The pastry crust is delicious, but my preference is for a more spicy filling. The filling doesn't quite have that kick that I enjoy. I wish I'd thought to taste it before I formed the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Glidewell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States