Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I must have lost some spice as I had to drain the fat but that made them all the better for my kids and I to eat - I also only used 1 tsp of curry in crust for my benefit - other than the lack of hot my husband said they are exactly like the ones he had in Jamaica and can't wait for me to make them again but wants all the spice and will take the extras to work. Thanks for a quick supper and easy lunches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I grew up eating Jamacian Patties and in recent years have moved to an area where I unable to find them. These are amazing and bring back alot of memories...my tastebuds thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I added a little garlic and ginger and these were great. I was a little worried about rolling out the dough, it seemed too dry, I cooled it for an hour and it rolled out fine. Also, after I crimped the edges with a fork I trimmed them so they looked pretty. This recipe made me love curry - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Fantastic recipe, you may want to increase the amount of liquid, just slightly, so you have somewhat of a 'gravy' with the filling. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I really liked it and will try to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenyrose3312

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I only made the pastry portion, which was very easy even for me, and turned out very nice and flaky. It was almost like an indian samosa - I filled it with leftover lamb curry and peas. I used grease proof paper to roll it out as I added a little too much water and it was a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Wow these are great. I wasn't able to follow recipe exactly and made a few changes. I only used margarine and omitted the shortening for the pastry. I used water and beef boullion instead of beef broth and used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. Also, I added some garlic to the onion when cooking. The pastry was nice and thin and crispy the filling tasty. Try these and I'm sure you will be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This recipe was very easy,I made them into mini patties and froze them for a party we are attending next weekend. They are very near the ones I remember having often some 20 odd years ago when we lived in Jamaica. They bring back many pleasant memories of our time spent there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bulls, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
These are really great! I'm new to cooking, but these were easy and taste awesome. My boyfriend and I drizzle jerk sauce over them to add a sweet kick to the curry goodness. Thanks, Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
No Complaints here. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States