Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
So good -- just like the ones at the sandals resort. However, I added a lot of garlic to mine (yum!). Dips well in salsa or cheese sauce (or just plain ol' ketchup, which kids love).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
My first time having and making. I need more experience with dough. It was tasty. I had zuchinni i needed to use up, so i also used that and added sweat peas. I just thought it needed some sort of sauce or gravy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This recipes is pretty good; And whoever said it isn't Jamaican you're wrong! I am from Grand Cayman (an island off Jamaica) and we get these patties from Jamaica all the time. Kudos to the person who found this recipe!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Jamaican or not, the patties taste great! I will try the Jamaican version next (suggested in another post) to see the difference. I doubled the recipe and will try to freeze some to reheat. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
These patties were absolutely wonderful! They tasted just like authentic jamaican patties. i substituted ground turkey and chicken broth for mine. and they tasted just as good. GREAT RECIPE! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I used this recipe to make this for my wife, who had never had it before, and now she asks me to make them regularly. They go GREAT with tzatziki, especially homemade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it came out great. I made it for a party and got many compliments. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This recipe was pretty good considering I grew up on Indo/pak foods and so cooking curry is second nature for me. I know for a fact that the best way to learn how to cook curry is by watching someone cook it who is native to the dish to really know what all it entails to cooking it. My hubby is native to the "Jaaamaaaicon Beef Paatti" as he says it, so I thought, it must be something different in it, but it was the same curry like I cook, called Keema. I used ground chicken breast instead of ground beef, and I added a little more curry powder just a pinch and instead of using the pastry for this recipe I substituted that part for the one for wheat tortillas which is the most best and versitile pastry recipe on allrecipes in my opinion. I have used it to make pie crust, for turnovers, for tortillas, and now for my beef patties. My hubby loved them, Thanks for the guideline to keep me focused on jamaican and not indo/pak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sza Sza
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I come from Toronto, where there is a lot of Jamaican influence in the cultural mosaic. I now live in Japan, so naturally, the one thing I missed the most are beef patties ( especially the spicy ones ). This recipe is EXCEPTIONAL! However, I made some changes : - I doubled the amount of spice in the meat mix. I also added Allspice, CLOVES ( very important in Jamaican cooking ), nutmeg to it. - I froze the margarine and shortening before cutting it in the flour. I also put very cold water in the dough. I then put the dough in the fridge for a good 30 mins before handling it ( which I made sure, to handle as little as possible ). - I added turmeric ( saffron ) to the dough, to give the pastry that yellow, buttery colour. - I also made sure that I cooled the meat, so as not to steam or change the pastry in any way, when I am stuffing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sza Sza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This recipe came out very good. I added some extra spice to the beef (jalopeno & chilli pepper). Came out delicious!! Very happy with this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet²nectar

Displaying results 71-80 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States