Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I knew from looking at the recipe that these patties wouldn't have the spiciness we so enjoyed in Jamaica. Taking cues from desihannagan and Sez (other reviewers) I used 1 and 1/2 times the spices called for and added 1/2 tsp allspice, 2 tsp sugar and approximately 2 TBSP chopped jalapeno peppers. Perfect combination of sweet and heat, according to the husband and son. Will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
We loved the recipe with the few changes I made based on other reviews. 1) Added 2 cloves garlic, shredded carrot, frozen peas, and approx. 1/2 tsp allspice to the meat mixture. 2) Doubled the pastry mix, which made 8 good-sized, hearty patties. Chilled pastry mix while browning beef mix based on another review. Was nervous about how the pastry was working out when I doubled it, needed to add just a little more water so it wasn't super crumbly. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this last night and it was pretty good. However I did not add the bread crumbs! Instead I boiled three eggs and chopped them up and once the meat was done and I put it on the wrap I added the beated eggs and some raisons. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
So good -- just like the ones at the sandals resort. However, I added a lot of garlic to mine (yum!). Dips well in salsa or cheese sauce (or just plain ol' ketchup, which kids love).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
My first time having and making. I need more experience with dough. It was tasty. I had zuchinni i needed to use up, so i also used that and added sweat peas. I just thought it needed some sort of sauce or gravy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This recipes is pretty good; And whoever said it isn't Jamaican you're wrong! I am from Grand Cayman (an island off Jamaica) and we get these patties from Jamaica all the time. Kudos to the person who found this recipe!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Jamaican or not, the patties taste great! I will try the Jamaican version next (suggested in another post) to see the difference. I doubled the recipe and will try to freeze some to reheat. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
These patties were absolutely wonderful! They tasted just like authentic jamaican patties. i substituted ground turkey and chicken broth for mine. and they tasted just as good. GREAT RECIPE! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I used this recipe to make this for my wife, who had never had it before, and now she asks me to make them regularly. They go GREAT with tzatziki, especially homemade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it came out great. I made it for a party and got many compliments. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States