Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This isn't what I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eggroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
It's not authentic but I still gave it a 5. We go back to this all the time! Since the edges of this dough can get burnt easily, I found that folding over and crimping to seal ,like a dumpling style, works best for us. Sometimes, we would use small wonton wrappers and deep fry them. This also need a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made these a few times, with the small alteration of adding cloves, tumeric and allspice to the beef mixture. They work out divinely every time, and get the best reviews from everyone who eats them. For larger crowds, I double the recipe.And for appetizers, I've made them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I added just a tiny little dash of nutmeg and it was perfect! Huge hit at my house. Love the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I have made this for many get togethers and never take home leftovers. I make it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made these the other day, and I added a TON more spices. I love spicy hot food. I added a tbsp of curry, smoked paprika, cayenne, and about 1/4 cup of death sauce, sooooo much better when they're HOT !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Fantastic and completely authentic! I visited family in Jamaica a few years ago and we ate these all the time. I've been looking for a recipe ever since. These are less greasy than the ones I had in Jamaica, but for me that is a good thing. They looked great and tasted even better. I will make this recipe over and over. This recipe makes about 8 medium sized patties. One fills me up, but make two per person if everyone's hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made these for a themed potluck girl's night dinner, the theme obviously being Jamaica! Everybody loved them! I did make some changes based on some other reviews, which I feel really made a difference. I doubled the spices, used red curry powder, chopped one jalapeno and sauteed it with the onion, added 1/4 tsp all spice to the spice mix, and I cooked the ground beef and drained it before adding the spices so as not to loose any flavor while draining the grease. I did use premade pie crust instead of making my own as I did not have everything I needed to make the dough myself. I thought they turned out wonderful, perfect amount of spiciness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TabbyGray01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Made the meat according to the recipe and it was terrific. Not exactly like the N.Y. patty I remember but good nonetheless. I used dough from a Filipino empanda recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipe and easy to make. Use authentic Jamaican curry powder mix for bext results, not just any curry powder! My family love these and always ask for me to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States