Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good. I don't make them into patties though, and I don't make the dough. I make it into a pie. SO GOOD! And easier and the kids love it. The only thing I do differently is that I saute garlic with the onions, use 1/2 tsp of thyme and half of the salt. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Nice recipe. I have used it several times. I like to add raisins to my beef mixture for a touch of that sweet element to all of the savory-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is a great base recipe. Delicious made as is....even better with modifications. After reading other reviews I added more spices to make it taste like the Jamaican restaurant in town. I used 3 tsp red curry, 1 tsp each of: Jamaican All Spice, cloves, paprika, turmeric & red chili powder. Also added chopped jalapenos and garlic. It was still missing something, so added 2 TBS sugar and that hit the spot. I used iced chicken broth instead of water...and only butter-flavored Crisco (no butter) ...for the dough. Cooled all dough ingredients & bowl before cutting it together. I used a tortilla press to make press out the dough evenly and thin. It baked up nice and fluffy. I made both beef and chicken patties & family/friends loved it. Thanks JEFFOLEE for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Great recipe. Not quite a Jamaica patty dough, more like an empanada dough but still tasty! That's the only reason for the 3 star. But for taste overall, 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I've never tried jamaican patties before so I can't comment on whether it's authentic or not, but I work with pastry quite a bit, and this has to be the worst pastry to work with. Third cup of water is not enough to bring the dough together. I ended up handling the pastry more than I normally would. The result was a dry pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is the closest recipe i've found for Beef Patties! Now if I could find some Ting I would be in heaven. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This tastes like the real thing. I cheated and used puff pastry. Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I lived in Jamaica for 7 months and the meat patties there are best in the world. I've tried to replicate them before and I think this recipe comes closest to them. They were very easy. I got so burnt out on curry there I didn't think I could ever eat it again but this was just right and brought back memories of my time there. If I changed anything I'd just add some vegatables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCarma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These turn out tasting nothing like authentic Jamaican beef patties and the list of ingredients is incomplete. Also, the patties are very, very small. If you really want to make these more authentic tasting, you *must* add something spicy to the meat filling and add more salt, because the patties will be very bland if prepared as directed. Fresh or dry hot pepper should work. The list of ingredients calls for 1/4 cup of margarine and 1/4 cup of shortening. You will use *all* of this while preparing the pastry shell. When you get to the step that requires cooking the onions, the steps call for you to melt 1/4 cup of margarine that is NOT included in the list of ingredients. Not a big deal, since this is a common ingredient; just be prepared. The recipe says to cut dough into 10 equally-sized portions; these will turn out very small if you do this. Instead, either completely double the amount of dough ingredients, or make just 5 equally-sized portions. Even after stuffing my very small shells with meat filling, I had half of the filling left over, so you shouldn't have to double this part of the recipe. Pro: The crust is very tasty. I'm looking forward to making this again for the crust alone! Yum! Caution: Do not use store-bought pie crust. You will be sadly disappointed. Summary: This was a lot of work for something so bland and the patties were very small. With a few modifications, this dish could be a hit for your friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rxbunnie
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Of all the recipes I could find on the net, this was the best one to start from. I also doubled the pastry ingredients, and made 8 medium sized patties. I added red pepper flakes to the filling, but made the mistake of not testing my meat before filling the patties. The filling is kind of bland, but great as a started for you to customize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rxbunnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States