Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
i just did these babies and they came out really good. I am from the Caribbean so are really close to the originals. Nice crusty crust and moist inside. Very delectable!!The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Meat is delicious, but you definitely need to double the size of the dough. Only made itty-bitty sizes but still had tons of beef let. Good recipe, though; very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysticorient

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The pastry crust is delicious, but my preference is for a more spicy filling. The filling doesn't quite have that kick that I enjoy. I wish I'd thought to taste it before I formed the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Glidewell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe but doubled it. I ended up with 22 patties. We all loved them. It's a good thing we all love curry though because they are definately spicy! As we like it! I purposely made more than enough for our meal because my 20 year old loves to come in and grab a snack in the evening. We actually like them even better when we reheat them in the microwave. The dough held up nicely: no rubbery or overdone dough after microwaving. Will be making these again! I will try to freeze a few on the next go around to see if they hold up to being frozen, thawed and reheated! I sure hope so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Great taste! Love the curry. To be fair, I only made the meat mixture from this recipe. For the dough I used a frozen french bread loaf and baked it--highly recommend--because that's how I make runzas and I enjoy the baked bread flavor with a different filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good. I don't make them into patties though, and I don't make the dough. I make it into a pie. SO GOOD! And easier and the kids love it. The only thing I do differently is that I saute garlic with the onions, use 1/2 tsp of thyme and half of the salt. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Nice recipe. I have used it several times. I like to add raisins to my beef mixture for a touch of that sweet element to all of the savory-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia LaHue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is a great base recipe. Delicious made as is....even better with modifications. After reading other reviews I added more spices to make it taste like the Jamaican restaurant in town. I used 3 tsp red curry, 1 tsp each of: Jamaican All Spice, cloves, paprika, turmeric & red chili powder. Also added chopped jalapenos and garlic. It was still missing something, so added 2 TBS sugar and that hit the spot. I used iced chicken broth instead of water...and only butter-flavored Crisco (no butter) ...for the dough. Cooled all dough ingredients & bowl before cutting it together. I used a tortilla press to make press out the dough evenly and thin. It baked up nice and fluffy. I made both beef and chicken patties & family/friends loved it. Thanks JEFFOLEE for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Great recipe. Not quite a Jamaica patty dough, more like an empanada dough but still tasty! That's the only reason for the 3 star. But for taste overall, 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I've never tried jamaican patties before so I can't comment on whether it's authentic or not, but I work with pastry quite a bit, and this has to be the worst pastry to work with. Third cup of water is not enough to bring the dough together. I ended up handling the pastry more than I normally would. The result was a dry pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States