Jamaican Beef Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
These were good, I was very proud of myself when I saw the finished product. I wouldn't want them everyday, hence the 4, but if you're feeling adventurous then definitely give them a try. And I definitely did not have enough dough for all of the meat, though I may have had more meat than the recipe called for, I would suggest increasing the dough amount by about a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This tasted good, but to my opinion they were more like meat pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicky Walks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
These were really good. Next time, in order to make them look neater I might roll the dough out into one big piece and trace around a plate with a knife, just to make that perfect circle. Tastewise I wouldn't change a thing. The only change I made was I used ground turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
delicious. I added more curry since my husband and i are curry lovers. I think i over worked the dough because the edges were crunchy. Next time i will not roll them out as flat as i did this time. I scaled the recipe up to make 20. They're great for when you're on the go, also great for freezing. just wrap in damp paper towel and microwave for 2 to 3 minutes (depending on your microwave). Thanks for an awesome recipe. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I was not impressed, they were bland and i just could not get into it, maybe i did something wrong but they we just ok, i will have to do a lot of work to make them good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Just like mama use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
great recipe. not sure what i did but the pastry turned out super flakey. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellygrrrl
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I was looking for an authentic recipe to surprise my husband with, as he misses these from when we lived in London. I knew the meat mixture would need some additions to suit our tastes - so I added the following: 1 large diced yukon gold potato 1 diced green bell pepper 1 large carrot - shredded As for spice - I found it pretty vital to add 1/8 tsp of ground cloves and 1 tsp of sugar. This gave them the warmth aromatic flavor that makes Jamaican cuisine so distinctive. I also doubled the dough recipe as many others suggested - which yeilded 10 traditional sized patties. I love this because I can make half spicy for my husband and leave the rest for the kids and I. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I followed the directions very closely and for the dough I just needed a little more water & flour to get the dough just right. The curry wasn't too strong. Next I want to try the dough with cheese inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These are delicious! However, I found I only had enough pastry to make 5, so I doubled the pastry recipe. The curry that I used was mild, so I added 2 tsp of Sambal Oelek (indian chilli paste) to the beef mixture. Turned out perfect! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States