Jamaican Beans and Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Ok, i'm a pretty good chef and was hesitant about this, I was pretty sure that it wouldnt be near enough liquid and boy was I right. To get this recipe right you will need 2.5C of coconut milk, 2C of brown rice, the onion and seasoning levels are fine, you need to use canned or precooked kidney beans, and finally to make it not bland as so many have complained, you need to add about 3tsp of white sugar. Anyone who has ever had raw coconut compared to the refined stuff will know why... I'll try to get my brother's version of this recipe (as made in Belize) much better and post it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcadiaBoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I changed this recipe up a whole lot- but in the end it turned out delicious. I made the brown rice seperately. In another pan I sauted 3 cloves of garlic, then added a red pepper, and the green onions and let them cook for about 5 minutes. I poured in a can of lite coconut milk, some red pepper flakes, dried tyme, and some curry powder. Then I added a can of kidney beans and the rice. I let it all cook for a few minutes and then salt and peppered to taste. It was very good and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
There is no way you can cook raw, unsoaked beans for only two hours and them be cooked. This has to be for already prepared beans and rice. A fixer upper I guess..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I tried this and added 2 cans of coconut milk and additional water. It was a real disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKNNRSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Very bland, even after adding cinnamon and nutmeg to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I found out the missing instruction behind this recipe and still cheated. Soak beans overnight. It's on the package instructions for the kidney beans. Also, I did add more water as it cooked. I could not let it burn. The flavor is OK with the fresh thyme, but I think I'll stick to my own way by cooking the beans and rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
After spending all day locating a can of coconut milk, I followed the recipe to the T. About halfway through the 2 hours, I started scrambling for more liquid. I added a can of evaporated milk, since I had no more coconut milk, then I ran out of that and just added milk. Bottom line is that the pan was horribly scorched and I threw the whole thing out. I was very disappointed. I'll never try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Ok, so I had to revise the receipe somewhat. I really used 40 oz. coconut milk, (3 13.5 cans minus a little). I started with the original 1 cup and kept addeding to keep beans drowned until I added rice (which I then considered the rice rule 1 cup rice=2 cups water) I used 1/2 the beans that the receipe asked for, I used only 1 cup brown rice and isteand of sticking to the 25 minutes I just kept checking and making sure rice didn't burn on the bottom and kept fire burning into the majority of the liquid was gone. Taste Great!!! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I slaved for three hours only to find a dissapointing bland dish. the directions are incomplete and confussing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I hope nobody tries this recipe with only 1 cup of coconut milk as the total liquid. You're probably supposed to cook the beans and rice separately, then add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States