Jamaican Beans and Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
this was very different in flavor, but just a little bland will add redpepper flakes the next time and give it a little zip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This recipe was delicious, although i did have to use more milk. I did precook the rice, and was glad that I did! One cup of milk would not be sufficient for 2 1/4c uncooked rice to absorb. The flavor was outstanding!!!! Love the creamy taste of the coconut milk paired with the spicyness of the chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Couldn't be made as the recipe called for, thankfully I read the other reviews and know enough about cooking to adjust as necessary to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I pre cooked the Beans and then simmered an entire can of coconut oil with the other ingredients plus 2 cups water. Decent flavour and crazy spicy thanks to the habanero pepper I used. Pretty easy to make. Might make it again... might not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Our family really enjoyed this dish. I did add twice the amount of coconut milk to the beans, and ened up adding about 2 cups of chicken broth (since I had no more coconut milk on hand). I added the garlic to the pot after the first hours to enhance the flavor. I ended up making the rice seperately as well, and used tobasco sauce and chili powder because we didn't have chile peppers. Next time I would probably pre-soak the beans, and use only cocont milk (3, 14-oz cans per cup of beans) , but they turned out well just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I used a variety of beans in the slow cooker with coconut milk. I cooked the rice seperately too. Basically took the idea and changed it. Turned out good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esther7mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I kept the coconut with the coconut milk, and cooked both in with the beans and additional water. I cut the rice down to 1 cup, cooking it in 2 cups of water. I served the beans on top of the rice. This has great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Oh dear...the person who posted this assumed that persons attempting the recipe would have had some experience with this sort of thing. Usually, the peas are cooked seperately in enough water to cover and the coconut milk is added with the rice. And chilli pepper! No self respecting Jamaican uses chilli pepper :) Just toss 1 whole scotch bonnet peppr (if you can find it) in to flavour the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Turned out very dry. I needed to double the coconut milk. I used canned kidney beans instead of the dry. Still needed to add some water so the brown rice could cook properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeelover2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I have been making "Rice and Peas" as us Jamaican's call it, for quite a while and this is really lacking. To start, you should soak your red kidney beans in cold water overnight. When you're ready to cook the peas, you would boil with it 1-2 cloves of garlic. Since the peas are presoaked, it should take approximately 45 mins to 1 hour to cook. After the peas is cook, you can add approximately 1/2-1 can of cocunut milk, 1 sprig of escallion, about 1 teaspoon of sugar, 1 sprig of thyme, black pepper and seasoning salt (all purpose seasoning) to taste (about 1 teaspoon of each), 1 table spoon butter, 1 whole scotch bonnet pepper (for flavouring). You can add onion if you like, but it should be finely chopped. Allow that to boil for 2-3 minutes. Then you wash your rice, and add it to the mixture. Once the rice is brought to a boil, reduce your fire and allow it to simmer. This should give you a much better version of the Jamaican Rice and Peas. I make it every sunday, and each time I make it for guests they absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States