Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2000
I would cut back on the oil next time to reduce the fat count. Overall it was a really excellent bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
very moist and a family treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
had lots of compliments on the cake at a christmas party I had. Next time, I'm going to add a light confectionate icing or a cream chesse with nuts frosting. Will add to this great tasting cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
My whole family loves this cake, they even request it for birthdays etc.! I top the cake with coconut before baking and add a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter for extra flavor. This is my favorite cake to make and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is a wonderfully moist cake with great flavor. It is great with or without a simple glaze. We all love it and it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
So convenient to make-- I already had all of the ingredients and only had to mess up one bowl. I was thinking that it must be too good to be true and wasn't going to taste well, but boy was I wrong. The cake tasted wonderful, very close to a cake that they serve in my favorite restaurant. I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Great! I, too, added 1 tsp. cinnamon (I had this recipe from years ago, and it called for 1 tsp. cinnamon). I made mine in a Bundt pan, but if you decide to do that, don't use cooking spray (instead, do the standard 'grease and flour'); otherwise, the outside turns dark, and it's not as appealing. This cake is much better the next day! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I'll be making this again SOON! I did change it a little because I didn't have a full can of pinapple... so I mashed some canned peaches into what I did have. I didn't add pecans because they weren't in the pantry... so I went nutless. Next time though, I would only put 1 cup of oil, it was a little greasy on the hands... but a GREAT recipe! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is probably the tastiest, moistest cake I have ever made. It was wonderful, and it gets better as it gets older. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe. I'm a Weight Watchers Lifetime Member, and this cake has 12 points per serving, but if this is what binging is all about, I'm for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Wonderful Cake!! I decreased the oil using 1 cup, and added 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. I also mixed the cake in a bowl, not wanting to mix in the bundt pan I was going to bake in. I will make this again, and cook in muffin tins to freeze! Can't go wrong with this one! Adding it to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States