Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I'll be making this again SOON! I did change it a little because I didn't have a full can of pinapple... so I mashed some canned peaches into what I did have. I didn't add pecans because they weren't in the pantry... so I went nutless. Next time though, I would only put 1 cup of oil, it was a little greasy on the hands... but a GREAT recipe! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Great! I, too, added 1 tsp. cinnamon (I had this recipe from years ago, and it called for 1 tsp. cinnamon). I made mine in a Bundt pan, but if you decide to do that, don't use cooking spray (instead, do the standard 'grease and flour'); otherwise, the outside turns dark, and it's not as appealing. This cake is much better the next day! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
So convenient to make-- I already had all of the ingredients and only had to mess up one bowl. I was thinking that it must be too good to be true and wasn't going to taste well, but boy was I wrong. The cake tasted wonderful, very close to a cake that they serve in my favorite restaurant. I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is a wonderfully moist cake with great flavor. It is great with or without a simple glaze. We all love it and it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
My whole family loves this cake, they even request it for birthdays etc.! I top the cake with coconut before baking and add a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter for extra flavor. This is my favorite cake to make and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
had lots of compliments on the cake at a christmas party I had. Next time, I'm going to add a light confectionate icing or a cream chesse with nuts frosting. Will add to this great tasting cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
very moist and a family treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2000
I would cut back on the oil next time to reduce the fat count. Overall it was a really excellent bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States