Jamaica Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Very good and easy to make. Tastes like a banana nut bread, only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Now don't get me wrong by the four stars I rated it. It was a good cake, but, I felt it needed something else, and I don't think frosting will do it, may be I should have added , like some of the other people did, add some cinnamon, but maybe that would have taken the "jamaican" thing out of it. All in all, I probably would make it again. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Absolutely delicious!!! Made this for a Jamaican themed baby shower and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
fabulous; a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Deliciously moist, easy and fast since it's mixed right in the pan and there's no need for frosting or topping of any kind. I followed the recommendations of other reviewers; reduced oil to 1 cup, used half brown and half white sugar and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon (though I'm not sure the cinnamon was necessary). Then gently mixed it right in the pan as directed and baked. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I made a few changes, I used applesauce in place of oil and used half brown sugar and half white sugar as previously suggested. I am not sure if the changes changed the texture...the texture was somewhat fudgy(?) definitely not cake-like. I also greased my pan and dusted it with cinammon and sugar. Yummy! Yummy! My husband did not want me to share any with my coworkers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Made this for hubby today for Father's Day; this is wonderful! Based on previous reviews I reduced the oil down to 1 cup and this did well. I only had a can of pineapple chunks so I threw it in the food processor and fixed that problem. I only had pecan halves, but got out a plastic baggie, plus my meat mallet, and solved that problem too. Can you tell I was bent on making this cake today? I didn't add cinnamon, as other reviewers mentioned, but think it would have been a welcome addition. This cake almost burnt on me. Be sure to tent this at about 40 minutes. My cake was done in about 52 minutes. Very moist and delicious! Just sprinkled powdered sugar over the top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Had some over ripe bananas to use up and decided to try this recipe. This was a big hit in our house. I used most of the suggestions offered - used 1c each of brown sugar and white sugar, only 1 cup oil, and coconut on top before baking. After baking, I sprinkled with confectioners sugar only and it came out delicious, probably one of the best cake recipes I've ever made. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Delicious! I loved the texture and it was so easy and quick to make. I read the reviews and used only a cup of oil, mainly cause that was all I had...and I did everything else the same. I even fell asleep while making it and I didn't hear the timer! I overcooked it but it was still moist! I tented the cake with foil in the last 20 minutes of cooking...glad I did that! I made it on a Friday night and served it Sat night...it was great and still wonderful Sunday morning. I also used Cool Whip as icing and topped it sweetened coconut...that was perfect and light enough to go with the texture. Also...even though I made it in the pan...I was able to flip it onto a serving tray easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I was sooo skeptical of a one-pan cake, but here it is, and its awesome. So yummy. I actually used frozen bananas I was saving to make banana bread and it seemed to work just fine. I served it with warmed maple syrup and some whip cream. Thanks for a really great recipe that is already making its way around the family....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY4MACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States