Jam Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Yum! Had to make a few revisions but these turned out very well. I didn't have butter so I used shortening I added a little extra sugar, I chilled the dough for a while before rolling into balls (it was still a bit crumbly - next time, I will chill it for an hour or two), I rolled the balls in coconut instead of nuts, and filled with jam before baking. They turned out great and looked very pretty and professional, just like at the bakery. I got 14 large cookies from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
fantastic, i baked them for my workers and they were gone in less than an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
These were good. I also skipped the nuts/egg white part and put the jam in before I baked them. Rich and buttery - a nice shortbread flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
very good and easy- but a bit salty. next time i will use unsalted butter or cut the salt. YUMMY though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I've made this a couple of times now, loved them. Chopping and rolling in the nuts was the hardest part. Next time I hope to remember to fill the jam before baking for a better jam texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I really enjoyed these. I used raspberry jam. It was a nice change from all the other Christmas cookies we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Excellent! My family couldn't keep their hands off these. They snatched them up right after taking them out of the oven. They are definately better served warm with the following adjustments: I added strawberry jam to the center of the cookies before baking, rather then after. Since my family aren't big on nuts, I completely left out dipping the dough into the egg whites and rolling into walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
These cookies are great tasting! My husband likes when I use a variety blackberry jam, orange marmalade, and peach preserves. My kids like them, but not as well as gingerbread men or chocolate chip cookies. Love how it has a delicate shortbread taste texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
These cookies were good in the end. I found the dough a little difficult to work with as it was very crumbly. I made two batches and in the second batch, I increased the butter by a scant 1/4 cup - the cookies then turned out perfectly!! The only other change I made was that I used pecans instead of walnuts and I made half the cookies with strawberry jam and the other half with orange marmelade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
these cookies were ok. didn't care for the walnuts. tried rolling them in coconut, which turned out much better. need to roll balls at least 2 inches. the kids didn't care for them, but they are good with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States