Jam Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
very good. i doubled this recipe. i used raspberry jam instead and i cooked them for 5 minutes, took them out, did the thumbprints, put the jam in, and placed them back in the oven for 10 min. I cooked them at 300 instead of 350 so the jam didnt run over. Instead of walnuts, I made a glaze from 2/3 c. confectioners sugar and 2 Tbsp. Milk. This made it really good. Overall a really nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
A family favorite at Christmas. Our favorite jam filling is lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessMakerBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These were fantastic! A tad time consuming but very much worth it. My 88 year old grandma who is the cookie queen even asked for this recipe and raved over them which made me feel so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My family and friends love these cookies! I,however, use 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. almond extract. this adds just a little more flavor to an already great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very good, just like my grandmother used to make. I tried so many recipes & this one was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made these with pistachios and raspberry seedless jam. I refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours so they were easier to handle. And instead of rolling the balled dough in nuts, I rolled into balls, created the imprint, brushed with egg yolk and sprinkled the finely chopped pistachios on top. They were delicious and my mom keeps asking me to make them every time the subject of cookies comes up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I found this recipe when looking to use up some jam, but I gotta tell you that mine were crumbly and then trying to transport them to church did not make for a great presentation. The taste was ok and it could be something I did so I will give it a four and mention that this cookies does not travel short distances well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These were delicious! I made them for a wedding shower and got lots of compliments. Like other commenters, I added the jam before baking, and the tip to put the jam in a plastic sandwich bag and cut off the corner for filling the cookies was a HUGE help--probably cut the prep time in half. I also added about two tsp. of fresh rosemary to the batter, using apricot jam for half of the cookies and raspberry for the other half. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Midnite Myst
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Just like I remember my Grandma and my Mom making! I did some with chocolate, some with strawberry jam and some with apricot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnite Myst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These were absolutley delicious, and very easy! I didn't have any walnuts, so I rolled them in pecans. They are just wonderful cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States