Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
The kids absolutely loved these muffins... The batter is a good basic muffin recipe. I doubled it and substituted wheat flour for 1/4 of the flour (so 1/2 c in the standard recipe.) I divided the batter in 4 and made batches with cherry jam, strawberry jam, blueberry jam, and pumpkin butter. To the pumpkin butter batter, I added a little cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. They were all a huge hit, but the pumpkin ones especially. Now I am kicking myself because I've had this jar of pumpkin butter sitting in my fridge forever and never thought to use it for baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I thought the muffin batter was a bit bland. I might make again, but stir some jam, lemon juice, or vanilla into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
okay, i am giving these a 4 star because i had issues with the yield quantity. i halved the recipe to 1/2 a dozen and I still got a dozen! Taste wise, was delicious. i know if i make this recipe again to halve it twice to make 6 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
The muffins were good, I only had grape and orange jam on hand, but they worked well. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I did not find them too sweet, they were just right. We will be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Twins- Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Excellent taste and easy to make. I used peach preserves and they were marvelous! I reduced temp to 350 and baked for only 20 mins. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I love this recipe as it's so easy to make and you can make any flavor muffin that you can find jam in. I've also used preserves instead to get the chunks of fruit also in the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I baked on 350 as others suggested and the muffins look fine. I found the flavor to be really bland so as written, I give this recipe three stars. I made a second batch with orange marmalade and used orange juice instead of milk, added 1 tsp ground ginger, 1/2 tsp lemon extract, and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I still baked them on 350 for 25 min, then broiled to get them brown at the top. The second batch was tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesyum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Would give this 4.5 if I could. Great to make the night before and grab for a quick breakfast in the morning. I cooked these at 350 and they turned out perfect. Mine were actually a muffin consistency, not a biscuit consistency like other reviews said. I plan on making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I wanted something a little different this morning that used what I had on hand. I used a 1/2 stick of softened margerine with the butter and whipped it until fluffy, then added the egg and vanilla. When I got the dry ingredients ready, I used a cup of oatmeal that I ran through the blender to grind down and a cup of whole wheat flour, to health-it-up. I used buttermilk in place of the regular milk and alternated adding it with the dry ingredients, to keep it consistant. I used a cup of a homemade blackberry/strawberry jam which really made it tasty. I'll for sure make this again with my personal touches. It's worth it for a fluffy, lighter muffin. Be sure when you make this for yourself that you whip the fats in with the sugar and fold the rest of the ingredients in. I'm going to put in my pile of treats to make for my son's kindergarden class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Very quick and easy to make. I use blackberry jam, omitted the sugar, replaced the oil with apple sauce, and added chopped walnuts. These are yummy, great for quick breakfast muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplepiscean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States