Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These were pretty good. I used strawberry freezer jam. I had 24 mini muffins and had 7 regular sized muffins out of one batch of mixture. Consistency was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Robbinsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I used whole wheat flour, 1 cup milk and brown sugar. Also tossed in a handful of oats. Good staple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very good! I used orange marmalade. Will definately make again but I find that mine bake perfectly at 350 degrees rather than 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These turned out really well. I made two and half dozen and people at work and in my dorm ate them up within 6 hours. I doubled the recipe and then separated it into two bowls so that I could use two types of jam: peach and strawberry. The peach seemed to be the favorite. I also added white chocolate chips and the flavors combined really well, especially with the peach. I only cooked them for 18 minutes at 375, but my oven is pretty finicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These muffins were super! My family loved them,it made quite a few more then the recipe said though. I used strawberry jam and one cup of jam was a little bit to much, they came out a little gooey and really moist .I think I will try 2/3 or 1/2 cup jam next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I quite enjoyed this recipe. It is one of the first muffin recipe that did not turn into a brick for me. Not too sweet, was very good. I used a home made strawberry banana jam, and it was well received by the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and the batter was way too dry. Other muffin recipes I use are 400 for 18 minutes and I tried that..were overdone..I ate one warm and the next morning they were hockey pucks. I even added some "spice" and it was really bland..sorry I really wanted to like them..but I couldn't eat them :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were great, but didn't seem to last as long as package-made muffins. I dipped a spoonful of jam into each muffin instead of including it into the mix. It was good but next time I'll stir it in the baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These were great. Super moist and cakey. My changes: Since my oven likes to burn things I definitely went with 350*. It seems like the outside is caramelized from all the sugar, which is probably where people are getting their burning issues. Because they're so sticky you want to either use muffins or grease your pan really well. For depth of flavor I did 1/4 cup of reg sugar with 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and added about a teaspoon of almond extract. They were super sweet, if don't like sweet muffins, cut the sugar. I think that the jam mostly adds sweetness, I only get a hint of strawberry. If you want more berry flavor, you'll need to add berries, or some kind of extract/flavoring. I also used a cup of reg flour and cup of whole wheat. I imagine if I had used cake flour, it would have been more akin to cupcakes. I also just realized I used soda not powder, which probably accounts for super floaty texture. Also, I had forgotten about the great muffin tin disaster of 08, and so I only had mini-muffin tins on hand. I made four dozen mini muffins, and they were done in about 10 minutes, quite possibly less. Just enough time for one pan to finish cooking while I filled the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
The temp was way too high, and even after I baked these at 375F instead of 400F, they burned after 20 mins. I used blueberry jam, which caramelizes easily, and they leaked unto the pan and burned. My husband is not going to be overjoyed when he comes home from work today. I will use just jam in the middle next time, and cook at 350F for 20-25 mins. I think this will help! On the plus side, the muffins taste like homemade candy on the tops :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States