Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great recipe! The first time I made it, I followed the directions replacing all nonvegan things with their vegan counterpart and was thrilled with the taste and texture, but I was disappointed that it barely made 7 big muffins. Therefore, I've converted the recipe slighty as laid out below in order to 1)double the recipe and 2) make it vegan for my college-aged son 3)add a peanut butter streusel (YUM!) *4 cups all-purpose flour *6 teaspoons baking powder *1 teaspoon salt *1/2 cup white sugar + 1/2 cup brown sugar *2 eggs worth of egg-replacement *1 1/2 cups Almond milk *1/2 cup coconut oil *2 cups any organic fruit jam ---Mix the ingredients exactly as laid out in original recipe replacing ingredients as shown above. Fill muffin tins almost to top. Before putting in oven, mix up a streusel in the usual manner with brown sugar and flour, but cut in peanut butter instead of butter....along with some flaked coconut. Top the muffins with this and cook at 360 or so for 20 minutes. I make 12 big muffins and 12 little muffins. (less time in oven for little muffins) I don't think you'll be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
These were pretty good. I'm not sure where I went wrong, but mine came out a little dry and chewy. I'm definitely going to give these another shot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very easy to make. Minimum ingredients. Used pear fruit preserve with pear pieces. Baked at 400 F for 15 minutes. It made 27 mini muffins. They tasted really sweet to me. (May be the fruit preserve had a lot of sugar as well) I will reduce the sugar quantity the next time I bake them. They had crunchy corn-bread like texture. Added cinnamon, vanilla essence and nuts for extra flavor. Used a combination of whole-wheat and all purpose flour and added a little more flour (1/3 cup) to get the desired consistency. Used Ener-G egg replacer insead of egg. Will definitely share (muffins and the recipe) with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
made the recipe exactly as written, I did reduce the cooking time to 20 mins at 350, used strawberry jam, and they were wonderful, and delicious and so quick to make, will absolutely put them on my favorite list, thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Hmm. I can see why there is such a huge range in the reviews on this recipe. It's an easy recipe, but it depends so much on the jam and the experience of the baker that you will end up with reviews all over the map. I followed the recipe, minus the temp (I baked at 350) and ended up with nice little muffins that seem more like scones to me. They are pretty bland and I didn't really think they were too sweet . ..or really that sweet at all. I think they need to be served with the jam that's in the recipe to really be flavorful. I also think that one more addition would make these pop: fill the tins to half with the batter, then put in a teaspoon of jam in the middle, then fill completely, taking care to keep the jam entirely in the middle, then perhaps top with sugar if you want a little prettiness. I think that would take these from okay and a bit bland to deliciousness. Also, it's probably pretty important to use jam with chunks of fruit and not jelly in these, or you'll end up without the pieces of fruit that help these muffins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
was skeptical as batter turned out runny...but ya...patience not my strong point..well worth the 28min..xtra 2 mins to turn golden brown..:-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I loved this Recipe. Instead of using Jam I used cinnamon apple sauce. Also I only baked them For 15 min. My whole Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I would not use this recipe again. The results were a strange texture and a bad taste. I followed the recipe as written. I'm surprised the overall rating is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
better with homemade jam than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Great way to use up my extra fruit jam from last season! Thx. I cut sugar to 1/3 c, and baked at 350 degrees. Almost a cornbread texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States