Jam Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very easy to make. Minimum ingredients. Used pear fruit preserve with pear pieces. Baked at 400 F for 15 minutes. It made 27 mini muffins. They tasted really sweet to me. (May be the fruit preserve had a lot of sugar as well) I will reduce the sugar quantity the next time I bake them. They had crunchy corn-bread like texture. Added cinnamon, vanilla essence and nuts for extra flavor. Used a combination of whole-wheat and all purpose flour and added a little more flour (1/3 cup) to get the desired consistency. Used Ener-G egg replacer insead of egg. Will definitely share (muffins and the recipe) with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
made the recipe exactly as written, I did reduce the cooking time to 20 mins at 350, used strawberry jam, and they were wonderful, and delicious and so quick to make, will absolutely put them on my favorite list, thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Hmm. I can see why there is such a huge range in the reviews on this recipe. It's an easy recipe, but it depends so much on the jam and the experience of the baker that you will end up with reviews all over the map. I followed the recipe, minus the temp (I baked at 350) and ended up with nice little muffins that seem more like scones to me. They are pretty bland and I didn't really think they were too sweet . ..or really that sweet at all. I think they need to be served with the jam that's in the recipe to really be flavorful. I also think that one more addition would make these pop: fill the tins to half with the batter, then put in a teaspoon of jam in the middle, then fill completely, taking care to keep the jam entirely in the middle, then perhaps top with sugar if you want a little prettiness. I think that would take these from okay and a bit bland to deliciousness. Also, it's probably pretty important to use jam with chunks of fruit and not jelly in these, or you'll end up without the pieces of fruit that help these muffins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
was skeptical as batter turned out runny...but ya...patience not my strong point..well worth the 28min..xtra 2 mins to turn golden brown..:-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I loved this Recipe. Instead of using Jam I used cinnamon apple sauce. Also I only baked them For 15 min. My whole Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I would not use this recipe again. The results were a strange texture and a bad taste. I followed the recipe as written. I'm surprised the overall rating is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
better with homemade jam than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Great way to use up my extra fruit jam from last season! Thx. I cut sugar to 1/3 c, and baked at 350 degrees. Almost a cornbread texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silenceinwinter
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Some of the BEST muffins I have ever made or tasted! Absolutely delicious and super easy to make! I too ran a little short of jam so I added a few scoops of peanut butter. It added so much flavor and really made the muffin! very cakey and sweet. I also was worried that the flavor would not be strong enough (because I used Japanese marmalade) so I made a quick orange glaze to put on top. Even though it was not needed, it added a special something to the muffins and really made them something extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These turned out really delicious. Because I didn't have enough jam, I used half a cup of strawberry jam and half a cup of frozen strawberries (that I defrosted and chopped up). It worked out really well, and when I make these in the future I'll do the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States